We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neuveau dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Sprat Restaurant

Jack Sprat Restaurant
165 Olympic Mountain Loop, PO Box 1074, Girdwood, AK 99587
907.783.5225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Girdwood
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fat & Lean World Cuisine! We have been serving Carnivores and Vegans for over 12 years. Jack Sprat is committed to providing the community of Girdwood and its visitors with high quality food that is fresh, creative, unique and delicious. We are health conscious with our ingredients and eco-friendly with our resources. We create a relaxing and fun atmosphere for everyone to enjoy. Wine & Beer From Around the Globe, Daily Specials, Gift Certificates, Private Parties, To-Go Orders, Kids Menu, Reservations Welcomed
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Neuveau dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife loves this place the food is creative and delicious and like many other resteraunts in this valley is excellent and cozy.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    64
    15
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Who would have thought that a restaurant at the base of a mountain would be so imaginative and delicious. If we had more time, we would have visited this place more than once.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best meal in Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I never expected to find such fresh, tasty food in Girwood. We had a great meal. The cioppino was super. Next time I am in the area I am returning try more of the menu.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food is good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had brunch there this morning...as always, the food is good, if a bit pricey...and we would eat there more often but, once again, the atmosphere was elitist and snobbish. Our server was splendid but most of the other patrons were boorish and rude...even to the extent of blocking the door as we tried to leave and behaving like they were being inconvenienced by having to let us out. Sadly, I think it may be quite a while before we get the bad "taste" out of our mouths sufficiently to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackSprat783-5225, Owner at Jack Sprat Restaurant, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Anna,
We are sorry you had a less than excellent experience while dining at jack sprat. While we cannot explain other patron's "rude" behavior, we can agree it does get a bit tight by the entrance, especially during the winter months when it is not convenient to wait outside. We hope our small space does not discourage future visits. Plus, you may discover Girdwood to be full of friendly, down-to-earth folks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food! A larger menu would be great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We've really enjoyed Jack Sprat both times we've eaten there. The service and food are great and we really appreciate their goal of wanting to prepare and share healthy food, like grass fed beef, etc. It would be awesome to have a little more on the menu, but that would be the only suggestion. It's worth the trip from Anchorage.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Sprat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jack Sprat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Sprat Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.