We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chair 5 Restaurant

Chair 5 Restaurant
171 Lindblad Ave, PO. Box 1309, Girdwood, AK 99587
+1 907-782-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: We are a full-service family restaurant and have been in business for over 33 years. We are locally owned and operated and specialize in Gourmet Hand-tossed pizzas, Deluxe Fresh ground Alaskan hamburgers and of course lots of Fresh Alaskan Salmon and Halibut. Our full service bar has over 75 beers on the menu and almost 50 single malt Scotches'. With 96 bottles and counting we also offer the largest selection of Specialty Tequilas in the state of Alaska. " The road goes on forever The party never ends "
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Good local restaurant with friendly relaxed atmosphere. Service a little slow, but food really good and portions massive!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    112
    36
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Local restaurant with a local vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Came here with a group of 11 and despite the restaurant not being busy, had pretty slow service with a side of attitude. That aside, the atmosphere is super cool and very local with deer heads and bear skins on the walls as well as TVs over the bar to add for a nice sports bar touch.
The food is good, your typical pub grub only with Alaskan flare.
We ordered the Alaskan Halibut Chunks (large pieces of fried moist Halibut) and a pepperoni pizza (good size and pretty good) to start. If you are a burger person I would recommend the Tundra Burger (Bison & Caribou blend), or if you are really hungry the Tundra Burger (triple patty, three cheeses, with bacon and jalapeno's).
There is a plethora of local brews and micro brews, so be sure to sample a bunch for a true local meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good bar, some good food, expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had great service every single time we went! Our apps were delicious and my veggie burger was good. I had one $30 entree once that was just okay. It is pricey, but still worth it if you know what to order.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We ate at Chair 5 three times during our visit. The pizza and halibut sandwich choices are great. The "starter" nachos were huge! Fun place at a reasonable price.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Average food, high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had halibut fish and chips - fish was way overcooked and was dry and tasteless. A friend ordered halibut dinner (broiled) and his was also dried out. How can you serve Alaskan halibut in Alaska and have it taste like that? It was also expensive - $29 for fish and chips. I was disappointed. My wife's salad was good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chair 5 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chair 5 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chair 5 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.