We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turnagain Arm Pit BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Turnagain Arm Pit BBQ
Mile Post 103.5 Seward Highway, Girdwood, AK
(907) 653-1953
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Girdwood
Restaurant details
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hands-down the best bet for BBQ in the Anchorage area. I stopped in about a week ago and was impressed. If the smell from outside doesn't draw you in, I don't know what to say; it is droolworthy. I had the brisket sammie and my boyfriend had the Bore Tide (the signature sandwich of pulled pork and bacon). Not only were the sandwiches great, but the service was helpful and the BBQ sauces complimented everything nicely. I will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice meal on Father's Day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had the ribs, made with dry rubs, and sides, and it was huge portions. They were busy and had run out of several items, but it was still a memorial meal, and the two of us had to package the rest up to take home. This is a casual place, just what you expect outside of Anchorage in the Chugach State Park. I haven't tried their new restaurant in town, but I will. It's by the University Center on Old Seward and 36th.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Real southern BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have passed this place on Seward Hwy en route to Kenai for yrs w/out stopping. Seeing the new place in ANC made me reconsider. Sorry it took so long to stop. Good sweet tea and good BBQ. Nice baked beans as well. Looking forward to trying the store on Old Seward next trip.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Food good - prices just o.k.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We've been to the original Turnagain Arm Pit in Indian and the new location on Old Seward Highway near 36th. The food is the same but the Pit in Indian is a more fun place. The Indian location has easy and good parking, and you can sit outside with service. I don't know, but it seems the "side" portions were better at Indian. Maybe it was just the day we were at the Old Seward and 36th location (at lunchtime), but the sides were really skimpy. The food is good for sure, and since we only go a few times a year, it's worth the $15 for lunch once and awhile.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turnagain Arm Pit BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Turnagain Arm Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turnagain Arm Pit BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.