We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pokey little hostel but you get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alyeska Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Girdwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alyeska Hostel
Save
You added Alyeska Hostel to your Saves list
227 Alta Drive, PO Box 953, Girdwood, AK 99587   |  
Hotel amenities
Boulder
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pokey little hostel but you get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Pokey is the word to describe this hostel. There are three rooms, split level, ten steps gets you from the basement room, through the dorm and into the 'family room'. The lounge/kitchen/dining room is 10 steps by 4. Couch seating for 4 ... but beds for 12+ ... so if its busy there is nowhere to sit....you would be not wanting to stay here if it was full, but if quite is ok.

That said, its ok if you are not fussy and want cheap accom. while at Aleyska, not unreasonably dirty, owners are so relaxed i never saw them, rather a longer term seasonal hostel dweller does some cleaning and checks people in (money goes in a box). 15 minute walk to the ski resort, not a steep walk. Not for a family. Bed was ok.

Room Tip: Book the whole family room or basement room for yourself or with one friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlyeskaHostel, Owner at Alyeska Hostel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Alyeska Hostel has a rich history. In the late 70's the original cabin was a job shack hauled in from Anchorage and put on an oil drum foundation. Over time it got a post and pier foundation, and 7 additions, all mostly made from reclaimed recycled materials. The first shower appeared in 1998, before that it was just a sauna and a pitcher of water. When we took over in 2002 it had a plywood counter top with a Coleman stove for cooking(propane tank under sink), one shower and toilet, extension cords for power, and a ladder - no steps.The failing foundation needed replacing, which was completed in 2008 along with a new deck and additional bathroom. We also replaced all the single pane windows. It's not perfect, but it's come a long way.
We host many families over the course of a season, many of which return. Sometimes the hostel is full of skiers, other times backpackers, but in general it's a mix. When families stay with us, most guests will be respectful of that. It is typical with hostels to have a houseparent who will stay in exchange for taking care of housekeeping and guests. As with Alyeska Hostel, we are open 24/7/365, so you will not always see the owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed two nights in the cabin. Very nice and cozy place with comfortable beds. Full kitchen and bath with a small eating area and stove. They told us we could use anything in the main hostel also, but you really don't need to, the cabin has all you need.
We tried to book the cabin again a couple of weeks later, but it was booked. We stayed in the hostel family room. This room is ok for an overnight stay...it is basically two mattresses on the floor with a lamp and outlets. The doorway is covered with a large sheet, I would prefer a door. Again, ok for an overnight. There is a full kitchen and two full baths in this part of the hostel...the other room is more of a dorm room. There is a small living room with a computer also. I would stay here again, but prefer the cabin. Everything was extremely clean, with plenty of bedding and towels available. We were offered cereal, milk and coffee for breakfast:)

Room Tip: The cabin is private. The family room is up about 5 stairs and the mattresses are on the floor. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Our stay was but one night, but it was very enjoyable.
We booked the single cabin. It stands in front of the larger house.
Had everything we needed for our stay..Would be a great place to spend a week as a jumping off spot to other parts of the state.
There were only 2 of us in the cabin...There is a full size bed and 2 upper bunks. One above the door and one above the lower bed....I had the upper bunk, the only problem I had was trying to get into the bunks..the ladder to go to the top is straight up and down, no angle to it....When you are as short as I am...5"1/2 the stretch to get into the bunk was pretty interesting..Again, that was not a real problem, just made things a little interesting...LOL.
The cabin is very nice, has full bath with shower and full kitchen..Very workable...
I have to apologize as I cannot remember the man who helped us with our checkin. He was very helpful and gave a good reference for dinner....
I will come back to the Alyeska Hostel on my next visit...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I had to take away from the rating because they screwed up our reservation, but the place is very cosy. As with any hostel, you will have to accomodate other people with the living space, but we met some very nice people. A middle aged couple with their teenage sons and a young couple with 2 very young kids. Never seen that in a hostel. We had reserved a private room for us, but when we got there, they had given it to someone else, so we had to bunk. But it wasnt too bad. Clean and Cozy accomodation for a great price, considering everything else in Girdwood is so expensive. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Booked two nights in the private cabin at the hostel since we had an all-day Prince William Sound tour during our full day there. The cabin is just in front of the main building and totally separate. One room has three beds (one on the floor and two bunk or loft type beds accessible by a ladder). Kitchen is in the same room as is a table/chairs and a heating stove (we didn't use the stove - weather was great when we were there).

Kitchen had a small fridge with a very small freezer space. Also had oven and stove for cooking.

The toilet and shower are now in a separate room with a door off the main room. Apparently that is a recent renovation.

For $75/night including taxes it is a great deal for two people. I think it costs slightly more for a third person.

I could not get the free wifi to work either in the cabin or in the main building (my laptop saw the signal but would not connect - seems to be a problem with many WPA2 connections).

When I return to the area I will definitely consider this again.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Cute little hostel and very clean. The staff was very friendly and the price very reasonable. My only beef was that the only other "private room" had only a flannel sheet for the door, and naturally that wouldn't "close" all the way. The doorway faces the entrance/sitting room/kitchen. The downstairs light is positioned right outside the door as well, so you can imagine what the lighting situation was like....It got loud when the three other people staying in the hostel got home from work and decided to sit down for a little chat, for about an hour. Granted, they were trying to be quiet, but when 3 people sit outside your door, carry on a conversation and microwave hot water for tea, you can guess how loud it gets. Not only that, but they were ignoring the 'lights out after 1200 am' courtesy-esque sign, the proprietor had put up. The other private room did have a door, so maybe that would be better if you can reserve it....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

This was by far the best hostel of the three we stayed at in Alaska (the other two were in Anchorage and near Denali National Park)--it's small relative to other hostels, but very tidy and very clean, attractively designed (the unfurnished logs for walls gave a woodsy feel to the place), and nicely tucked away into the mountains. My husband and I stayed in the private cabin--an extra plus, since it's small and cozy. The hostel owner said he was planning to expand the private cabin room to make it bigger. Highly recommended if you're looking to get away and enjoy a stellar hostel experience.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alyeska Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alyeska Hostel

Address: 227 Alta Drive, PO Box 953, Girdwood, AK 99587
Location: United States > Alaska > Girdwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alyeska Hostel has provided affordable lodging for travelers in Girdwood, Alaska for over 30 years. We are located less than 1 hr from Anchorage Airport and 1 mile from Alaska's largest ski resort. In the main building we provide a ready to use kitchen, bathrooms with hot showers, a 7 bed shared dormitory, 2 private rooms. We also have a cabin with private bath and kitchen available May - September. Many outdoor activities can be found in the Girdwood area year round, and Alyeska Hostel provides a clean, affordable place to relax, in a great location to base your adventures. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alyeska Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.