We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the tram!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alyeska Ski Area

Alyeska Ski Area
1000 Arlberg Dr, Girdwood, AK 99587
907-754-2285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular winter recreation resort for skiers that features 2,000 vertical feet of skiing on 27 trails.
Plymouth Meeting PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss the tram!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The tram ride to the top of the ski mountain is not to be missed! it was very refreshing during the heat wave. On cooler days there is a sun deck to enjoy. Just a nice, fun thing to do. There is a skiers cafeteria and a very expensive restaurant, take your pick.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    55
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed the hiking at the resort this summer. I was nice to be able to sit down and have a beer at the top of ht emountain after a fairly steep climb

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

They have replaced several lifts, keep the runs well groomed, great oversight by management. Love bringing the kids down and staying overnight so we can ski!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Alaska June 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

WOW! What a beautiful view. I am not a skier but based on what I saw in June I think this would be a wonderful place to experience some wonderful skiing. We did not see any bikers and I did not realize that there were bike paths but if you like mountain biking I also think you would be in for a challenge in this mountain area. Good travels to all that come here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great view at top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was late and we did not have a dinner reservation at the restaurant at the top but they let us ride up for free (ticket counter closed) with the promise we'd get a drink at the bar! We did and it was a great view from the bar (and a very nice bartender). The views from the observation deck were fantastic as it was a very clear evening. I'd recommend this for sure.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alyeska Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Alyeska Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alyeska Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.