We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Eastern Alaska” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gakona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverview Bed and Breakfast
Mile 3, Tok Cutoff, Box 261, Gakona, AK 99586   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Gakona B&B and Inns
Lex, KY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Eastern Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We made the trek down the Richardson Highway from Fairbanks to see what Eastern Alaska looked like on our last couple of days in Alaska this year. Actually, it was a little boring. But we wanted a place to stay within a four-hour drive back to Anchorage (to catch an afternoon flight) and the Gakona area looked interesting. We found the reviews for the Riverview B&B here on TripAdvisor and can confirm it lives up to the reviews. It's a very-attractive layout with the main house commanding a great view of the Copper River. They have three external buildings on the property and we stayed in the one with what either was four units or three units and a utility room (we had two couples so we effectively used two units.) We thought the rooms were spacious, comfortable, and quiet. Their WiFi was adequate to reach our units and we easily connected to the Internet. Homer gave us some ideas for dinner (for which there aren't many options in Gakona) and asked what we wanted for breakfast. They served a nice breakfast consisting of great waffles and bacon in their main house dining area. We learned quite a bit about the area talking with Homer and his son Pat and enjoyed the morning meal with them. The place was easy to find and we'd recommend it highly if staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This B&B is a beautiful place, with log cabins, a view of the river, and excellent breakfast.

Father and son are fun to talk to, with interesting experiences.

Very clean too.

For dinner, try the restaurant in the Princess Lodge about 25 miles down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent 2 night here last August and it was great. The property was well looked after and had everything that you could ask for. the breakfast was first class. Homer and his son were great hosts. Could not have asked for better.

Room Tip: This is a tiny town but the saloon and restaurant nearby were very good and not expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If one want a real treat with location, location, & view this is it. You are located right next to & above the Copper River. See Black Bears, on the hill above you & on the grass lawn in front of your cabin. We had been on our trip for 18 days hiking, etc. & planed on staying two nights at the Riverview B&B to take a rest. It was more than we expected. Our room was large with great beds & lots of hot water. The outstanding breakfast & the house is wonderful & educational. We could not believe the large vegetable garden & hot houses. It is on 9 acres. The nightly tariff is very reasonable.

Room Tip: We believe any room. But get the ones right by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were sent here when another nearby establishment had a big group that needed to stay an extra night. How happy we were for the change! The Riverview is tucked away - just an odd little driveway - and you drive in and WOW! You just want to get out of your car and walk and relax, and you can do just that. We loved checking out the gardens and sitting out, watching the river run. In the morning - what a surprise! There were two snow-filled mountains that we hadn't seen the night before. They took our breath away! (The mountains are so tall, they make their own weather and clouds, so they were both obscured the night before.) You are actually looking into Wrangell-St. Elias State Park. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and all-homemade, and the hosts were gracious and friendly, not overly talkative. And the dining room had all sorts of wonderful bounty from the owner's hunting trips, along with a priceless native basket collection. We can't wait to go again - for more than one night.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river will give you those mountain views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had been considering a stopover in Valdez but very fortunately decided to spend two nights in Gakona and travel by car to Valdez, in hindsight a great decision. The B&B is situated in a quiet, peaceful location on the banks of the Copper River and our spacious cabin overlooked the river. There are a number of cabins in the grounds, all with their own private entrances. They are nicely laid out and well maintained. Ours was comfortable, spotlessly clean and fully met our needs. The ensuite bathroom was small but fully adequate. Two of our party stayed in the main house where excellent breakfasts were served in the morning by Homer and son Patrick. They were very knowledgeable and helpful and were excellent hosts. There were several fishermen staying in the cabins and they told us of excellent catches, all helped by Homer and Patrick’s local knowledge. Riverview B&B was excellent value for money and we very strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

As year-around Alaskans we love to tour our own state. We decided to drive to Nebesna and needed somewhere to spend 2 nights. Riverview B&B was a delightful find. The beautiful setting was matched by the charm of our hosts. It was great sharing stories with other long term Alaskans. This is a B&B we will recommend to all our visiting friends, not just for the beauty but for the host's collection of Alaskana and their knowledge of the whole State. And, of course, clean, convenient, and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We had #1 in the building by the river. The sound of flowing water was very restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Bed and Breakfast

Address: Mile 3, Tok Cutoff, Box 261, Gakona, AK 99586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Gakona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gakona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riverview Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list