We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eklutna Village Historic Park

Eklutna Village Historic Park
Glenn Hwy, Eagle River, AK 99577
907-696-2828
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Parks, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old Russian Orthodox village houses a unique cemetery, in which each grave is surrounded by a small, decorative burial house. One of the region's oldest buildings, a church built of logs, was constructed before 1870.
Cambridge, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very interesting stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Beautiful old church with cemetary containing spirit houses. Great learning experience about local burial customs and beautiful photo ops. $5. admission.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Eklutna Village”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I found it interesting but it was 'visual' with little information that explained what we were seeing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good History Lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A good place to visit not far off the highway. Eklutna is a native village which hosts a Powwow in the summer. Fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

It wasn't actually open but access is allowed. We were there about 4pm on a Saturday. As mentioned by FJJ there was a drop box so a $5 donation could be left. The priest arrived as we were entering since there was a service at 5pm. Fascinating look into the mixture of the Russian Orthodox religion and the customs of the Athabascan natives. Do yourself a favor and go on line,do a little research and read about this village, the people native to this area and the arrival of the Russians missionaries prior to going; it will enhance your visit greatly. I love visiting and photographing cemeteries and I have to say this one may be small but it is one of the most interesting ones I've been to. It is easy to find, just a short distance off of the highway. Thunderbird Falls with an easy trail is nearby so it makes for a nice afternoon outing just a short drive out of Anchorage.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Native Information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very interesting place close to Anchorage.Check the hours as open in Summer & not sure about rest of the year. Lots of info on Russian Orthodox religion & burial customs of Natives.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eklutna Village Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Eklutna Village Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eklutna Village Historic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.