We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal and service in Alaska” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Europe Restaurant

Taste of Europe Restaurant
1205 Richardson Hwy, Delta Junction, AK 99737
907-895-9880
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Description: (907) 803-9880 new restaurant, new building, very good food, listed on urbanspoon.com, european setting, great service.
Restaurant details
Description: (907) 803-9880 new restaurant, new building, very good food, listed on urbanspoon.com, european setting, great service.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Worst meal and service in Alaska”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Oh dear. On the night we visited they had clearly already had problems as there was a notice on arrival saying the card machine wasn't working, so they'd only take cash.

No problem, we ordered our meal - there were a few other tables taken, and a few more people arrived after us.

Our two salads arrived five minutes apart; even though they were identical. My husband's request for a refill drink never appeared. The meal was pretty bland - Husband had the tour around Europe, which was fairly uninspiring - the owner clearly hasn't been for a while. I had some dumpling things (Pierogi), ok as far as they went, but there were no accompaniments, so pretty stodgy and hard going after a while. No asked if we were enjoying our meal, or came by the table again.

There was only one young girl serving, so she clearly had her hands full, despite the fact the restaurant was only half full. When she realised she hadn't got around to refilling the drink, instead of apologising she just brought us the bill - no offer of coffee, no enquiry about dessert, just 'get out of Dodge'.

Really disappointing meal compounded by sloppy service - don't go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Acceptable restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the Only restaurant after 2hrs driving from Valdez to Delta Junction. It is very close to an Army Base. Right now it is 8:00pm and the restaurant does not have several items displayed at the menu. After this issue, everything is fine and the food is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta Junction, Alaska
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The atmosphere is pleasant, the wait staff is kind and helpful, but the food...the delicious food! It is so nice to be able to take a mini-vacation via a plate of excellent food from a culture other than my own. The presentation is wonderful, the portions are appropriate and the freshness factor is not neglected. Don't miss this wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice for Delta Jct”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The food was ok, and Restaurant looked great inside and out, but the service we got was the worst and for that we will not be coming back,

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great addition to the road between Glennallen and Fairbanks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We have stopped here 4 or 5 times in the past year and have never been disappointed. The food is good quality and the atmosphere is relaxing. We enjoy stopping here for a nice break in the 5 hour drive. The quality is much better than you normally find in a small Alaskan town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Europe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Europe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Europe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.