We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room for the money in the state” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska 7 Motel

Alaska 7 Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alaska 7 Motel to your Saves list
Alaska 7 Motel
Mile 270.3, Richardson Highway, Box 1115, Delta Junction, AK 99737   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Delta Junction
Boise, Idaho
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best room for the money in the state”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My wife and I went up to Alaska to see the summer solstice. It's a beautiful state, but all of the hotels are so expensive. When we finally stopped in Delta the Alaska 7 was a pleasant surprise.
It's by far the most affordable motel we stayed at with rooms around $75. Some of the other "cheaper motels" we had stayed at in other towns were pretty dirty with very few perks, but the Alaska 7 gave us much more than we would have guessed for the price. The room was clean and comfortable and was fully equipped with a personal fridge and new TV's that included satellite channels.
The motel is a few miles outside of Delta towards Fairbanks on the Richardson highway. It is a nice quite place that gave us a good nights sleep.
The place is run by a mom and pop couple who were really nice and talked with us about all of the places we had visited while giving us some great advice on what to see while we were in the state. They even let us take a look inside a room before we rented it.
If you're looking for a good place to stay that will save you a few bucks I highly recommend checking this place out. If you're not sure you can always ask to see the room first just like we did.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the motel are really quiet. You can ask to see the room before you rent i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
1
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Cheap motel, overpriced, however, the biggest complaint is that this is supposed to be a Non-Smoking motel but my room reeked of stale smoke. I do not believe it is a Non-Smoking motel, if so, they don't appear to enforce the rule.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

The hotel looks fine enough on the outside, but it was dirty on the inside. It smelled like it was still a smoking room last month. However, the bedding looked clean. The refrigerator was dirty. The shower curtain smelled moldy and was really dirty. I don't know about you, but I was taught to clean the outside of the toilet, right down to the floor. Not worth the $99.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed there on our way Dawson City, Canada. It was really cheap by alaskan standards, but comparable to other motels, so you couldn't say: I told you so. From the outside, it look really nice in the late evening sun (near summer solstice) BUT our room had no working door lock, the heater didn't work (it fell to pieces from someone else), the table and the bed where sticky from a coke can and the bath was just old an NOT inviting.

I stayed in dozens of cheap motels across the United States but this was the worst.

DON'T STAY THERE.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2004

This is a basic motel next to the highway. The rooms were clean enough with comforable beds. This is really a 2 story motel, the downstairs rooms are around the back. There was a bit of TV noise from the room next door and some step noise from the room above. The prce was reasonable for a basic motel, $75.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2003

Before you enter the Quaint little town of Delta Junction Alaska travelling south from Fairbanks;You will note a rustic wonderful little place to rest your travel-weary bones for the night. (on the left)
Not the Ritz by any means, but a helpful and friendly staff,clean rooms and comparable prices.
You will be close to town so you can check out the local color at the Buffalo Center diner or if you are lucky enough to go in the summer you can get your meal at the local DRIVE-IN and perhaps eat in the beautifully crafted screened in gazebo!! Also...if you like steak you just gotta try the Trophy Lodge!!
They make the best RIBEYE steak anywhere! If you go ,check them out,but you will have to wait till 5 pm to get in. But trust me its worth it!
Another cool thing in Delta is their sightseeing tour
I can't for the life of me remember the name,but if you stop in at the visitor's center they'll tell you.

If you are looking for a nice stop over in your journey the ALASKA 7 is a good place to park it for the night or for a couple days to really take in the flavor of a remarkable little town.

I loved it so much I gave myself an Alaska themed
screenname when I got home!! ENJOY!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska 7 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska 7 Motel

Address: Mile 270.3, Richardson Highway, Box 1115, Delta Junction, AK 99737
Location: United States > Alaska > Delta Junction
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Delta Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alaska 7 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska 7 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.