We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Navigator...home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rarotonga

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Rarotonga
Directions
Cook Islands
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Navigator...home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We enjoyed our 10 year Anniversary at The Navigator where we spent 10 nights in this amazing home. We stayed there from Feb 23, 2009 to March 5th, 2009. John and Joy are extremely nice and accomodating. The home was very well taken care of and the pool was absolutely beautiful and refreshing. The house is very large and has all the amenities you need.

We are frequent travellers and found Rarotonga to be the safest and friendliest city that we have ever visited. We rented bicycles and rode around the island almost everyday. What an amazing way to see everything and stop frequently. Take the inside road for great views and a real taste of the countryside. We also highly recommend doing the cross island trek, it's challenging so you want to make sure you're in good shape with strong knees for the steep incline/decline. The view of the "Needle" and the entire island from the top of the trek is spectacular.

We found the food gourmet and our favorite restaurant was The Tamarind House. Great snorkeling infront of The Rarotongan Hotel but the absolute best snorkelling is on Aitutaki. That was the highlight of our trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
main-ridge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Island Car and Bike Hire Raratonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Island car hire. Rarotonga. Great Service.
March 2009

We have had a brilliant family holiday on the Cook Islands.
It is such an easy place to visit. I do recommend getting transport of some kind. We rented motor bikes from the Muri office of Island car hire. Like everything else on the holiday it was a great experience. We were picked up from our accommodation, driven to their office and taken care of. It was loads of fun with the bikes and as the top speed on the Island is 50 KM's it is pretty safe too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Still the same after 15 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

15 years ago my husband and I went to Rarotonga for our 10th anniversary. Wanting to go back there in the future we finally made it for our 25th. Guess what, it was just how we remembered it. Beautiful, lush green palm trees, Hibiscus, Gardenia flowers everwhere. It was like we never left. It is a place for families or Weddings and lots of good snorkeling to do. If you are looking to really unwind this is the place to come. Worth the plane trip. Do your homework and you will find the perfect place to stay. (see review on Hotel) We were there March 29th,2009 till May 12th,2009 and the weather was hot and humid. Loved it. The white sand and the blue water felt you were in Paradise. Just a minute, I think we were. We took lots of pictures to remember our wonderful time in Rarotonga.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Raro Beach Bach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

This property was totally awesome. It was beachfront with safe swimming, spacious, clean, economical, well appointed. The owner, Ian, went above & beyond the call of duty to ensure our visit was hassle free & we lacked for nothing. Our group of 8 adults & four children stayed for 10 days without the feeling of being confined in close quarters.
We would (& are) totally recommending this property to anyone visiting Rarotonga & are looking forward to returning there sooner rather than later.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lazy Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

This is a wonderful place to really lay back & relax. The people are very friendly & make everybody very welcome. Beaches are great & there are some very good restaurants. We did a progressive dinner one evening & that was great - into 3 local homes and saw things from the local side. Hotels can be very expensive so be carefull also if you opt for no service it can ba cheaper but you must ask, longer stays, about over 10 days can also give you a discount. If you are stayingduring the summer air conditioning would be best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos