We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Reef Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Magic Reef Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magic Reef Bungalows
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Arorangi, CK, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay seven pay six.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Romantic Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My partner and I travelled to the cook islands for a wedding in April 2011.
We stayed at three different places on rarotonga and Magic Reef Bunglows was by far the best! The location is stunning with spacious, clean and beautiful bunglaows. All bungalows come with stunning outside shower and bath to top it off.
Judy and Barry are fantastic, friendly hosts who offered us their own car when the rental car we had broke down.....where else in the world would you get this?
If you are going to the cooks and want a romantic, seculded or quiet place to stay that has the luxuary of stylish resorts then Magic reef is a must

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    17
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
112
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Magic Reef was the perfect location for our honeymoon. Judy and Barry were brilliant hosts; they made us feel welcome and relaxed. The bungalows were beautifully appointed and amazingly located. We appreciated the private, relaxed and child-free environment! Our absolute oceanfront bungalow was wonderful to stay in; the four poster bed, the outdoor bath – to the champagne on arrival. Magic Reef is on the best side of the island –you have the sunset and not the wind. We wholeheartedly endorse the Magic Reef as a dream getaway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talihina OK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

My wife and I traveled to Rarotonga and New Zealand for our 25th anniversary. We researched the web and decided on Magic Reef for our week in Raro. We found some more expensive places but we can stay in a fancy motel anywhere. We wanted a bungalow on the beach that was as luxurious as possible and still quite and secluded with a beachfront view.

Magic Reef seemed a good choice for us. Online, we found Barry to be very helpful and the price seemed reasonable.

When we arrived we were nothing short of amazed! The bungalow was perfectly clean and very romatically designed. Our deck faced west (toward the sunset) and was about 40 feet from the water. My wife loved the garden shower and bath. The snorkeling was good when the tide was in and the crash of the waves rocked us to sleep each night. And just a 3 minute walk down the beach was an amazing place to eat.

We rented a motorcycle and spent much of our week exploring all the way around the island. I didn't see any accommodations that I thought would be a better place to stay.

We also made some great new friends. Barry, Judy and Grace, thanks for being such kind hosts (and coming looking for us when you thought we had taken too long to hike the cross-island trail!) And kudos to Lisa, Grace Ann, Rowella and Divine for keeping the bungalows and grounds so immaculately clean and neat!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Magic Reef is a really lovely, quiet place to stay. It is small so there are not lots of people milling around. The bungalows are beautifully fitted and have so many added 'extras' that makes it really special. The whole place has clearly been thoughtfully done.

Barry and Judy are extremely helpful if you need them.

The only thing that was a bit annoying were the grocery shops nearby were pretty terrible, but it is only a short trip to town and the main supermarket.

The kitchen is well fitted - we managed to eat our dinner in every night for 2 weeks, so it is possible! The cleaning staff were wonderful and thorough. So friendly too!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

My new wife and I recently spent our honeymoon at Magic Reef Bungalows. The location was great as it was within walking distance to many restaurants, a grocer, souvenir shops and a scooter/car hire shop. Judy and Barry are the owners and did an excellent job looking after us which included pick ups and drop offs at the airport, restaurant and activity recommendations and reservations. The cleaning/service staff at Magic Reef do a very thorough job at cleaning the bungalows - you would see the cleaning golf cart parked for several hours infront of newly vacated bungalows!

One thing that could be improved upon at this resort is the beach itself. Now, this particular part of the beach is very rocky and is not at all intended for swimming or snorkling, but we did notice that some other resorts along the same beach raked up the seaweed and rocks in front of their resort. If Magic Reef was to apply the same beachfront maintenance standard to their beachfront, as well as supply some lounge chairs and/or hammocks, these additions would make Magic Reef far superior than any of the other accomodations within the same proximity.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I spent a lot of time researching Raro accommodation options for my wife and brother 50 th birthday celebration combination family holiday, 14 of us in total and choose Magic Reef.
It was the perfect choice and made even better by the caretaker hosts Rod and Jo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Having stayed in 4 different resorts in Rarotonga this has to have been the best for comfort and privacy. The bungalows are spaced so that all of them catch a view of the lagoon. The decked area on the beach became the focal point of meeting other residents. In fact we had three special days a wedding, my birthday and a family (all adults) birthday. The owners were away on holiday and their friends Rod and Jo were the managers. On these late afternoons they supplied the residents with a celebratery drink. What a pleasure to end the day with such good company. Rod & Jo were magnificent nothing was too much trouble - always happy to see you, share a joke and a drink. There is no need to have a restaurant or bar as there are plenty of places only a short distance away. As other reviews have said the lagoon especially at low tide is a bit rocky - don't be put off as a short stroll either way is fine. We found that a longer walk south on the beach to the Aroa Beachside Inn was good value for lunch, a coffee or a beer and the snorkeling their was beautiful - heaps of fish in waist deep water high or low tide. Highly recommended. The staff at the resort are great, happy, cheerful and very helpful. We didn't meet Barry & Judy (the owners) but would like to say a big thank you to Rod & Jo (who both got up a 4 a.m. to get us to the airport) for making our stay memorable. Great place, great people and absolutely 'MAGIC".

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magic Reef Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Reef Bungalows

Address: Arorangi, CK, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 Specialty lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Reef Bungalows 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Polynesian style, self-contained bungalows located right on the beach of Arorangi, with golden sunset views from each. All bungalows have sea views, romantic four poster super-king size beds, a private outdoor shower and bath, air conditioning and a ceiling fan. There is an extensive DVD and book library available. The boat-shaped pool, BBQ facilities and Petanque court invite you to relax. Complimentary use of snorkel, mask and reef shoes. Complimentary breakfast on arrival. Complimentary air transfers for direct bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Magic Reef Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Reef Bungalows Hotel Rarotonga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Reef Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.