We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice villa and great beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitesands Beach Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rarotonga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitesands Beach Villas
Save
You added Whitesands Beach Villas to your Saves list
Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice villa and great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The villas are very well equipped. The fruit basket and delivery of fresh tuna was greatly appreciated. But the best part was the beach - lovely for swimming and snorkelling right outside the villa, and very quiet. We would definitely recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witten, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

There are three beach villas and one beachhouse which is right behind that villas in a beautiful garden. We stayed some days in that house and must say, this was the best accomodation on our world trip in the first 6 month! It is 25 m to the beautiful sandy and quiet beach, kajaks are for free, also the BBQ. The house is more than spacious and perfectly equipped, you won´t miss a thing. The owners, May and Don, are very friendly and helpfull and make everything possible to enjoy your stay. We were very sad that we booked our next flights and there was no chance to stay longer... If you want to contact: Raro 22919.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

An excellant villa and great beach location. The beach is sandy and very quiet. The villa is very comfortable and Don and May are excellant hosts. Definitely would stay here again when we decide to come back to Rarotonga. We arrived from Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada and were amazed of the beautiful island, people and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay in Rarotonga was truly heaven on earth and was made extra special by staying at White Sands. This was truly our home away from home. The location is perfect and we think, the best location on the island. The house was well equipped and we were not wanting for anything (except maybe calmer seas for fishing). However, Don was so generous, he dropped off fish from his fishing trip, knowing we had been skunked! The people are the most friendly we have ever met, on all of our travels!! The snorkelling was fantastic and only steps away. Great BBQ facilities made it so great we hardly went out for dinner which is so not like us. The bus stops right out front making it easy for getting around. You can walk to a couple of great restaurants too. Thank you for sharing paradise with us Don and Mae we loved your spot and look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: No such thing as a bad cottage they are all the same. Listen to the owners when they tell you to loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I don't even know where to begin with this piece of paradise. Everything was wonderful, from the warm and inviting hosts to the amazing view to the clean comfortable accomodations everthing was just top notch. I travelled here with my sister and 2 year old daughter from Seattle WA. At first I hesitated to go so far away with a young child but once I arrived I knew the right decision for a 2 week vacation was made. Aside from the amazing beautiful island, WhiteSands Villas was truely one of the best places I have ever stayed and I have travelled the world. The owners Don and May really go out of there way to make you feel at home. I cannot recommend this place enough. The kitchen is will stocked, there is a BBQ, comfortable beds, lots of snorkeling equip., towels, floats for the ocean (which is breathtakingly beautiful) and very spacious accomodations. Hands down you cannot get this kind of clean, comfortable lodging, in this location for this price anywhere. PERIOD. I cannot wait to go back! Thank you Don and May for an amazing time.
PS. The beach is AMAZING!!!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I hardly like to tell you how nice this is just in case when I try to go back I can’t get in because you are there already. This was our third trip to Rarotonga. We have stayed in three different places and this is our favourite so far. We travelled as a family group of four.
Pros:
• Location. About 20 minutes drive from the airport. Great part of the island. Sunsets can be viewed off to your right hand side. Swimming and snorkling is good. We saw whales breeching beyond the reef from our balcony. You are tucked up right on the beautiful beach with coconut palms waving about. Paddling about in the kayak was fabulous, fish were jumping all around us.
• Villa. Absolutely everything you could want and more. The interior feels like a little like a well loved New Zealand bach when you go in but the thought that has gone into providing you with everything you might need is impressive. This is a place to relax and feel at home. Very very comfortable beds, with additional extra fluffy rugs if you are chilly. Big complementary water bottle which lasted our 4 days, lovely island fruit, all the positive things that have been mentioned by others. Just fabulous. Outside there is a communal barbecue area so Whitesands is perfect for larger family groups to rent as there is plenty of accommodation for larger groups to get together whilst being able to get away to their own space. I might also add that the magazines in our villa were a great touch. My daughters and I were able to get completely up to speed with all the celebrity gossip. We were also presented with the most amazing tuna from Don. Incredible all round.
Cons: None

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, N. Z.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

What a perfect piece of "paradise"!.. We loved the "absolute beachfront" of the Whitesands Villas - they're sitting on the sand! We just walked off our deck - down 5 steps on to the beautiful beach - stepped a couple of metres and our toes were in the sparkling blue lagoon...

The villa was spacious, very comfortable and very clean- and well equipped with everything we needed - even down to the serviettes, toothpicks, and a lemon squeezer ! The fruit bowl on arrival, milk in fridge, filtered water, coffee, tea, sugar all supplied..Modern kitchen with plenty of crockery, glasses and utensils. Big BBQ area - handy for cooking and entertaining as well. Oh, free phone too for making enquiries and bookings, better than $2 minute@ hotels

A good bed, nice clean linen and plenty of big fluffy towels - it felt like "Home away from home"

We loved the tranquility and privacy of the place - yet just a few kilometres up the road at Muri Beach one could enjoy the buzz of all the tourist activities... and... just a few kilometres down or "clockwise" we drove just a short distance to the evening shows at the top resorts!!

Villas are in a great location on the island. We loved the fish sandwiches at "the Moorings" and the best Latte coffees on the island at Miros - they're both just up the road in Muri.

The only thing wrong was the weather - sadly our 4 day stay was wet and stormy so we didn't get to enjoy the kayak and the snorkels, flippers, sandshoes and all that was provided for "fun in the sun" - better luck on our next stay at Whitesands with Don and May, the very generous hosts who have added the "little extras" - we are recommending "Whitesands" to our friends...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitesands Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitesands Beach Villas

Address: Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Whitesands Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitesands Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.