We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to Rarotonga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Resort

Save Saved
You added Castaway Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Escape to Rarotonga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I just arrived home yesterday after spending a wonderful week in Rarotonga where I stayed at Castaway Beach Villas. Paul and Michelle who celebrated their first year in the business are wonderful hosts. I found all the staff very friendly and quick to have a chat. Castaway has two bars with their own special qualities - one next to the pool and the other on the beach front. One of highlights for me was relaxing at the beach bar with a cocktail - either alcoholic or non alcoholic. Great place to socialise whilst watching the sunset. Crusoe the cat makes himself very welcome with all the quests.
The room I had was very clean and most importantly the bed was very comfortable. You don't have to go to far into the water to see some of the lovely fish.
Castaway supplies snorkelling gear and beach towels... You will need reef shoes.
As a fund raiser a local rugby team is planning on clearing an area for people to swim in front of the resort so that will be a real asset.
Paul and Michelle thank you for being great hosts.
Michelle, I look forward to seeing your new water feature.

Room Tip: Personal choice would be a beach front room but really I don't think it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

my friend and i had 3 days with paul and michelle we found them good hosts the food was good especially the bbq night the pool was great but i did have issues trying to get out the first time i used it slipped and broke the skin on my shin not the best for us older ladies we stayed in room 2 which was lovely especially the bathroom only issue was the soundproofing between us and room 3 this was around dawn more likely sign of when it was built that soundproofing was not the same issue as it is today but it didnt stop us from enjoying this resort keep up the good work paul and michelle your hard work paying off

Room Tip: our room quiet no road noise just that muffled talk noise from next unit around 6.30am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were here in August and have just had another week here. What a fantastic location, great facilites, restuarant and bars. Paul and Michelle and their staff are just great. This is a great location and the atmosphere is great. No kids which for us was fine. We met lovely people and really enjoyed the daily happy hours. Paul and Michelle do so much to make our stay wonderful. We are coming back in August this year - three times in one year!

Room Tip: rooms 8 and 9 are the ones nearest the beach which we love
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Couldn't have asked for more! Great place - much better than the more expensive resorty hotels on the island - mainly due to the kindness and great personalities of the hosts.
On arriving in Raro (from the UK via Auckland), Air NZ had taken my suitcase off the plane as the plane was overweight. N.B this happens a lot from what I gathered after speaking to locals. If you're travelling with a partner, make sure you split your belongings over your two cases in case one gets left behind. Air NZ will give you 100NZD but this doesn't go far in the Cooks when you need sun cream, mozzie repellent, swimwear etc. However, Michelle was so helpful - lending me some sarongs, sun cream etc - it really helped and meant we could enjoy our precious time there. They also upgraded us to a beachfront villa as we only had 2 nights there and were on honeymoon. We missed breakfast one day and Paul very kindly gave us bread, spreads and lovely fresh fruit so we could have it anyway. Villas were great, beach was beautiful. Beach bar was just opening when we were there but looked wonderful. Chinese takeaway opposite is pretty good with generous portion sizes (we ordered 2 dishes but that was enough for 4!). Walk down the beach to get to the Waterline restaurant for a sunset meal looking over the sea. Snorkelling gear is free to use too and plenty of amazing fish in the water.
Thanks so much for a great stay - wish we could be back!

Room Tip: Beachfront is really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spent 6 days at the Castaway, way too short a time. Michelle and Paul are the most wonderful people, Michelle has a wicked sence of humour, a laugh a minute. Our room was excellent, staff just beautiful, all the guests were made feel welcome and we all got on well. Cant wait to return next year for a longer visit. Hey Paul how's the mud wrestling idea going??? Cant wait to join in. Ha Ha.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just arrived back into the UK after a round the world trip that included staying 5 days at the Castaways. Although the pool was being resealed Paul made arrangements for us to use two other facilities. Paul & Michelle were marvellous hosts and could not do enough for me. yet wish they were not so far away. If I get the chance will certainly be back. have already passed on details to two other people.

Room Tip: I had a studio room which was absolutely ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel was the last one after our memorable 2 weeks honeymoon around the Cook Islands. As we had an overnight flight back to Auckland we decided to stay close to the airport in a small hotel. We arrived at the hotel around 5h30pm (from Aitutaki) and the reception was closed. We went to the restaurant/bar and a young lady together with her father (hotel owner) promptly checked us in, sorted out our luggage which was delivered by the hotel that we previous stayed in Rarotonga and confirmed our flights and airport shuttle. They were extremely helpful.
The standard room that we stayed was a family room with 1 queen & 1 single bed perfect for families. Self contained room with all kitchen appliances and crockery. From the back door we had access to the beach and pool. In the evening was quite pleasant having a nap and hearing sound waves before we head to the airport.
We did not use any facilities in the hotel but it looks great, very well maintained.
The hotel restaurant was a highlight of our short time at the Castaway Hotel. We wanted to go to a nice Restaurant to finalize our stay in Cook Island but we were tired, so we decided to have dinner there. Food was delicious; the seafood dishes that we ordered were full of flavour. I am so glad we dined there; lovely atmosphere, delicious local cuisine and delightful staff to talk to.
Special thanks for the hotel owner, his daughter, waitress and the chef; you guys are a sensational team!

Room Tip: Room close to the beach will be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort

Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 72 Specialty lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Resort is a small escape quiet and secluded island paradise boutique resort featuring a mix of twelve units built on the edge of Rarotonga’s sunset side of the island, offering views of a white sandy beach, magnificent turquoise lagoon, reef and ocean beyond.Castaway Resort does not accept children under 16 years and offers accommodation at cost effective rates for all types of travellers. The furnishings and decor capture the tropical flavour of the island with the design and colours reflecting a light and airy tropical beachside living.Watch the people fish in the lagoon, and look for humped-backed whales passing off the reef in the months of July to November, swimming or snorkelling from the beach, kayaking out to the reef or sipping your favourite cocktail while viewing the best sunsets on the island...all this and more at Castaway Resort.This friendly little resort is well known for its fantastic beach location, quirky character and relaxed ambience. With a friendly small team we offer personal and intimate service at your door. We offer a range of accommodation at very cost effective rates for all types of travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Castaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.