We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cheap place to stay near town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atupa Orchid Units

Atupa Orchid Units
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atupa Orchid Units to your Saves list
Atupa Orchid Units
PO Box 64, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and cheap place to stay near town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed one night after our trip to Aitutaki. Room was clean and the host eileen was wonderful! Raro is very expensive so good place to stqay if you are on a budget. Thanks again Geoff, Curt and Dakota

Room Tip: cheap place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutch448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Arrived after midnight from the airport and realised it was a bad choice. The room was tacky, dark, unclean, and zoo like. But as we were due to leave the next day we figured, for one night, how bad could it be?

Sleeping was difficult because of the strong musty smell coming from the mattress. At 5am, my wife woke me because she could feel something crawling on her. I got up to check who was sharing the bed with us, and in the process was bitten on the hand by a centipede.

We left the room after that, and later the same morning told the owner Ingrid about it. Her response, or lack thereof, demonstrated poor service. Worst hotel experience I've ever had. If you are somehow still determined to stay here, double check the prices before you agree to the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank twotaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rarotonga hotels

Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I chose this place on the basis of online information. I had never been to a Pacific islands other than Hawaii. I had 5 days in the Cook Islands, chosen because the airline agent said it was a pretty place.
Ingrid met me at the airport, and left me at the door of a tiny apartment - very middle class. There was nothing fancy, but it was clean little place with a queen bed & small couch, a fan, a bath with shower, and a kitchen corner. I also hard a little porch with furniture and a barbeque., and a yard with visiting chickens.
After a nap, I walked a hundred yards or so to a small store and stocked my little kitchen.
Later I caught the bus at the end of the driveway and circled the island. I rode that bus, with it's barefoot driver, every day. As I'd wait for the bus, local people would offer me a ride - to town, or to other things.
One day Ingrid took me for a tour of the island. She knew a lot about the history, and she loved the place.
One day we went to see black pearls - at the home of a woman friend. I'd had a look at store prices and these were more reasonable.
Another night we attended a wonderful dance competition, teams from all over the Cook Islands drummed and danced.
This was a good experience for me. I wanted to see what life was like - to get a littleidea of what it was to live there.
Now, Rarotonga is on the back side of the date line, my destination, Auckland, is on the other side. I was due to leave at midnight, and got confused about which night. Ingrid dropped me off at the airport the required 2 hours early. Nothing opens, nothing moves until an house before the flight. When I got to the airline desk & learned that my flight was the next night, I called Poor Ingrid who picked me up again at 11:30 and brought me home. Next night she again gamely delivered me to the airport, with a little checking, "You're sure, now, that this is right?"
In summary, an excellent experience, because of a knowlegable and welcoming hostess, and a comfortable home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

The lady that we dealt with was incredibly inappropriate and rude during our short stay at this budget hotel. I don't ever think that I've had a worse experience at a hotel, and we have travelled extensively.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank madk325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

This is a gem of a location for the budget traveller. It is on the back road (are metua) in Rarotonga. It is a 10 min walk to Nikao and slightly less than this to town (Avarua). Set up a long driveway the units are very quiet at night. Each unit is fully equiped for self-catering, spacious and super clean (service daily). There is no view to speak of but this is reflected in the low price. The gardens are very nice tho. The owners are super helpful and a great source of advice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyCookIsAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.0 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#4 of 18 in Muri
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#6 of 7 in Avarua
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atupa Orchid Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atupa Orchid Units

Address: PO Box 64, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Atupa Orchid Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing