We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cheap place to stay near town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atupa Orchid Units

Atupa Orchid Units
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atupa Orchid Units to your Saves list
Atupa Orchid Units
PO Box 64, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and cheap place to stay near town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed one night after our trip to Aitutaki. Room was clean and the host eileen was wonderful! Raro is very expensive so good place to stqay if you are on a budget. Thanks again Geoff, Curt and Dakota

Room Tip: cheap place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Arrived after midnight from the airport and realised it was a bad choice. The room was tacky, dark, unclean, and zoo like. But as we were due to leave the next day we figured, for one night, how bad could it be?

Sleeping was difficult because of the strong musty smell coming from the mattress. At 5am, my wife woke me because she could feel something crawling on her. I got up to check who was sharing the bed with us, and in the process was bitten on the hand by a centipede.

We left the room after that, and later the same morning told the owner Ingrid about it. Her response, or lack thereof, demonstrated poor service. Worst hotel experience I've ever had. If you are somehow still determined to stay here, double check the prices before you agree to the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I chose this place on the basis of online information. I had never been to a Pacific islands other than Hawaii. I had 5 days in the Cook Islands, chosen because the airline agent said it was a pretty place.
Ingrid met me at the airport, and left me at the door of a tiny apartment - very middle class. There was nothing fancy, but it was clean little place with a queen bed & small couch, a fan, a bath with shower, and a kitchen corner. I also hard a little porch with furniture and a barbeque., and a yard with visiting chickens.
After a nap, I walked a hundred yards or so to a small store and stocked my little kitchen.
Later I caught the bus at the end of the driveway and circled the island. I rode that bus, with it's barefoot driver, every day. As I'd wait for the bus, local people would offer me a ride - to town, or to other things.
One day Ingrid took me for a tour of the island. She knew a lot about the history, and she loved the place.
One day we went to see black pearls - at the home of a woman friend. I'd had a look at store prices and these were more reasonable.
Another night we attended a wonderful dance competition, teams from all over the Cook Islands drummed and danced.
This was a good experience for me. I wanted to see what life was like - to get a littleidea of what it was to live there.
Now, Rarotonga is on the back side of the date line, my destination, Auckland, is on the other side. I was due to leave at midnight, and got confused about which night. Ingrid dropped me off at the airport the required 2 hours early. Nothing opens, nothing moves until an house before the flight. When I got to the airline desk & learned that my flight was the next night, I called Poor Ingrid who picked me up again at 11:30 and brought me home. Next night she again gamely delivered me to the airport, with a little checking, "You're sure, now, that this is right?"
In summary, an excellent experience, because of a knowlegable and welcoming hostess, and a comfortable home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

The lady that we dealt with was incredibly inappropriate and rude during our short stay at this budget hotel. I don't ever think that I've had a worse experience at a hotel, and we have travelled extensively.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

This is a gem of a location for the budget traveller. It is on the back road (are metua) in Rarotonga. It is a 10 min walk to Nikao and slightly less than this to town (Avarua). Set up a long driveway the units are very quiet at night. Each unit is fully equiped for self-catering, spacious and super clean (service daily). There is no view to speak of but this is reflected in the low price. The gardens are very nice tho. The owners are super helpful and a great source of advice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atupa Orchid Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atupa Orchid Units

Address: PO Box 64, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Atupa Orchid Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atupa Orchid Units, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.