We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & informative way to see Raro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raro Mountain Safari Tour

Raro Mountain Safari Tour
Cook Islands
682 23629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 38 activities in Rarotonga
Type: Tours
Activities: Group tours/safari
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: These guided, four-wheel island tours transport visitors to many scenic locations including Te Rua Manga and Wigmore's Waterfall.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing & informative way to see Raro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having conquered the Cross-Island Trek the day before, we were ready for a more relaxed pace, and this was just the ticket. The entertaining drivers of the tours give you a behind-the scenes look at Island Living, and are a great way to explore away from the main road (Ara Tapu Rd), see the local flora and fauna, and provide a terrific lunch - definitely do the morning tour (lunch provided)!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    46
    18
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bannockburn, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great way to see the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great fun crew, invaluable insights and information about the Island. Do it early in your stay as the knowledge gained will be invaluable during the rest of your visit. Thanks guys!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good island exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Entertaining staff, a good look around the island with interesting information. Great views form the peaks and a very nice lunch, with musical entertainment.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Overall a enjoyable morning.Very informative,the guides/drivers were hard case guys who always tried to keep the trip interesting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“More boring bits than fun bits”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We did the Sunday afternoon tour - so this review may just pertain to that particular day, not the week day tours. Please bear that in mind. This is advertised as including lunch. 'Lunch' was served at 4:30 pm. This is not what I would call a normal time for lunch, especially since we had been picked up at 12:15 and were expecting a meal much earlier.
Anyway, onto the tour itself - most of the drive was on back roads through plantations. OK could have been interesting for about 10 minutes, not 2 hours. We were given very little commentary by our driver, so we learnt very little as we were being driven around.
We were taken to the noni processing factory and subjected to a political rant by the factory owner - not really what you want on holiday! The information about how they process the fruit and the importance in terms of Rarotongan exports was interesting though. The most interesting part of the tour was being taken up into the mountains on muddy and steep tracks and finally having a great view across the island.
Part of the tour includes a side trip to their Avarua office for payment.
Once again, I feel that this wastes valuable time and could be dealt with in a more efficient manner - or maybe deal with this aspect at the beginning of the tour instead.
And lastly the meal - probably the worst meal we had on Rarotonga. Tuna full of bones, gluggy rice, ordinary coleslaw, stale bread etc.
Overall I feel that this tour is not good value for $75. And I also think that they drag it out to five hours to make it seem more valuable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raro Mountain Safari Tour also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Raro Mountain Safari Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raro Mountain Safari Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Raro Mountain Safari Tour to your Saves list