We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“polluted?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Muri Lagoon

Muri Lagoon
Cook Islands
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Attractions in Rarotonga
Type: Beaches
Activities: Snorkeling, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the island's most beautiful locations, this lagoon and beach is a popular destination for swimming and snorkeling.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“polluted?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Was told by a local that the water quality was poor here and that was the was it appeared. Fun walking over to the island at low tide, which is also where the lagoon cruise has lunch. Went to the muri club hotel to get a cocktail and nice place to people watch but not the best for snorkling by a long mark.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    63
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

beautiful place - still dreaming of it
beautiful easy access islands - always warm
few dangers or hazards
a few fish
safe as

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawksbay
1 review
“"FANTABULOS!!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

During my stay on Rarotonga I visited the Muri market and I met a few people from around the globe and just enjoyed it. I really enjoyed the Sweet and Sour Chicken and Teriyaki Chicken at the market and loved it. Everybody should try these meals. I would recommend this as the "BEST"

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful but no fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent the day here snorkeling but hardly saw any fish at all. That was a bit disappointing. It's a beautiful setup and lots of activity which explains the lack of fish. Great to suntan here and hire canoes or those paddle boards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rent a paddle board or kayk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Absolutely stunning waters with great coral life. Cruise it with your love or by yourself, or just lay about. I needed water shoes for the sea slugs everywhere (gross) but paddling out to the tiny lagoon islands was unforgettable

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muri Lagoon also viewed

 
Avarua, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Muri Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muri Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.