We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view and well worth the effort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Rua Manga (The Needle)

Te Rua Manga (The Needle)
Cook Islands
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 22 Attractions in Rarotonga
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tall, rocky pinnacle can be spotted from several locations on the island and is a favorite challenge for those who enjoy a good climb.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome view and well worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Not for the faint-hearted or those without much agility. You need to walk up through the roots of the trees and you go up really fast. Must bring water with you and some food for energy but the views are your reward. Much of the walk is undercover so you dont get too much sun either. Watch out for the roosters at the top - they are pretty cheeky!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Phew what a trek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I understand why they say you need a guide to climb this track!

Bring plenty of water and snacks as it takes a while and some parts are tricky so watch your step! Beautiful location but make sure you are of moderate to high fitness as the climbs and slopes are tricky and you will need to be fairly agile.
Totally worth the clim though as absolutely amazing and the waterfall is stunning.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freemans Bay, Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hard work but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A great walk. My friend and I decided against hiring a guide as we were advised by locals that the track was well-marked and that you can't get lost. We did it North to South and it took exactly three hours start to finish. A lot of it is almost vertical and you need to pull yourself up with tree roots and branches and it seems steeper on the way down but there are ropes for descending the harder parts. There are a few river crossings on the way down (South side) so wear shoes that can take it or be prepared to take them off - the river rocks are super slippery. I forgot to have breakfast prior but ate a Whittakers Peanut Slab near the beginning which gave me a real boost! Would definitely do this walk again and it's inspired me to walk more at home in New Zealand.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taihape
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Deffiently wroth it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Do it!! you will be very greatful you did, If you do it in winter, jumping in the waterful at the end was incredible. take plenty of water.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great walk. Do it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Do this walk north to south. The terrain is challenging, and you need to be quite fit and agile to complete it. Some parts are very steep and you use the tree roots like a ladder, or steps, to climb up.

The needle has a great view, and there was a rooster at the top when were there. It begs for bits of food by pecking your shoe until you feed it.

The descent to the south side of the island is longer and further than the way up and other tracks join it, hence why you should go north to south (you can take the wrong track if you come the other way).

Took us about 3 and a half hours, but we were moving quite quickly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Rua Manga (The Needle) also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Avarua, Rarotonga
 

Been to Te Rua Manga (The Needle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Rua Manga (The Needle), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.