We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phew what a trek!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Rua Manga (The Needle)

Te Rua Manga (The Needle)
Cook Islands
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 68 things to do in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tall, rocky pinnacle can be spotted from several locations on the island and is a favorite challenge for those who enjoy a good climb.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Phew what a trek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I understand why they say you need a guide to climb this track!

Bring plenty of water and snacks as it takes a while and some parts are tricky so watch your step! Beautiful location but make sure you are of moderate to high fitness as the climbs and slopes are tricky and you will need to be fairly agile.
Totally worth the clim though as absolutely amazing and the waterfall is stunning.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steffy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Freemans Bay, Auckland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hard work but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A great walk. My friend and I decided against hiring a guide as we were advised by locals that the track was well-marked and that you can't get lost. We did it North to South and it took exactly three hours start to finish. A lot of it is almost vertical and you need to pull yourself up with tree roots and branches and it seems steeper on the way down but there are ropes for descending the harder parts. There are a few river crossings on the way down (South side) so wear shoes that can take it or be prepared to take them off - the river rocks are super slippery. I forgot to have breakfast prior but ate a Whittakers Peanut Slab near the beginning which gave me a real boost! Would definitely do this walk again and it's inspired me to walk more at home in New Zealand.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzannah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taihape
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deffiently wroth it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Do it!! you will be very greatful you did, If you do it in winter, jumping in the waterful at the end was incredible. take plenty of water.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TarataFishaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great walk. Do it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Do this walk north to south. The terrain is challenging, and you need to be quite fit and agile to complete it. Some parts are very steep and you use the tree roots like a ladder, or steps, to climb up.

The needle has a great view, and there was a rooster at the top when were there. It begs for bits of food by pecking your shoe until you feed it.

The descent to the south side of the island is longer and further than the way up and other tracks join it, hence why you should go north to south (you can take the wrong track if you come the other way).

Took us about 3 and a half hours, but we were moving quite quickly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Wgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manyana, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it! So beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Wear good shoes and prepare yourself. It took us just under an hour to reach the Needle and man was it worth it! A rooster even followed us to the top. Def one of the best walks we have been on

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Rua Manga (The Needle) also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Te Rua Manga (The Needle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing