We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live the dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Queen Fishing Charters

Marlin Queen Fishing Charters
Avatiu Harbour, Cook Islands
+682 55 202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 49 Activities in Rarotonga
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WELCOME TO MARLIN QUEEN FISHING CHARTERS!Serious about Big Game Fishing? Great so are we!Fishing aboard Marlin Queen is the ultimate game fishing experience in Rarotonga, Cook Islands. A successful blend of Rarotonga's best known and most trusted Captain (Junior) with a purpose built deep sea boat means a day out on the ocean doesn't get any better! We work extra hard to make sure your fishing trip is an unforgettable experience! Rain, hail or shine - we go fishing! If it's your dream to catch big fish, you will not find a more dedicated team to help you do it! As soon as you leave the Avatiu Harbour the water gets very deep, very quickly so no time is wasted in getting those lures into the water to find the "Big Ones". Sit back, relax and enjoy the spectacular view of the island in a safe and relaxed atmosphere - unless of course you are on our "early bird" trip which leaves at 6am (and it's still dark) to the FAD's to meet the Yellow Fin Tuna when they rise for feeding. The early bird catches the worm - and so do we! The fishing in Rarotonga is great all year round and our well equipped boat has everything you will need. Whether you're a novice or experienced angler your enjoyment is guaranteed. We provide refreshments, snacks, comprehensive safety equipment, flush toilet and use the latest Shimano fishing gear. Captain Junior is famous for making his own lures - guaranteed to attract the Big Ones! Shared and private charters are available and you can choose whether you want to fish for a 1/2 day or full day. Our minimum is one person and for larger groups (over 10) we will organise your own "inter-boat" fishing competition, loads of fun for the competitive at heart. Want the "Ultimate Fishing Holiday"? We specialise in complete fishing, accommodation and transport packages, tailor-made to suit your individual or group requirements. We have a great range of accommodation and transport options to suit your every need and budget, so sit back, relax and let us organise your dream fishing holiday. Don't wait until you arrive in Rarotonga to book your trip as demand is high - avoid disappointed, book your trip now!
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Live the dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I always dreamt about catching the big fish on a day out game fishing, we'll Willie made the dream become reality. When I was tied and could have easily given up the fight the guys made me go on and I landed a large bull Mahi Mahi. They were great on the boat and have left me a lifetime of memories.
Many thanks
Glenn
Sunday, 30/9/13

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    8
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We came to Rarotonga having done quite a bit of game fishing back in NZ. The tackle was great, the crew knew their stuff and the fishing could have been amazing. My one problem was that we hardly got to actually fight the fish that were caught. The crew would 'set the hook' on a fish before handing us the rod, which involved them fighting it for a good while until the fish was tired and then left us to just wind it in... In my mind this isn't a full fishing experience as crew should teach people to fight a fish from an initial hook up all the way through.

I think this would be a great trip for less experienced anglers but we were left feeling a little underwhelmed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinQueen, Owner at Marlin Queen Fishing Charters, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi there - thanks for taking the time to send in a review! We treat all feedback, whether it be good or bad very seriously so that we can pass this on to our crew for future charters. It would have been good if you had let us know after the trip about your experience and feedback so that we could have had a chance to rectify this while you were still on the island with getting you out again. I have a couple of questions and would be great if you could respond to me in an email at fishing@marlinqueen.co.ck - which boat you were on and who were your crew, and was it a private charter as from my records I can not see you listed as a private. On a shared charter we have to cater for every skill level and you can imagine how difficult that is when the fish are biting and the heat is on - our crew generally assess these levels pretty well but maybe not quite in this case, but we do rely on people to speak up! Hope to see you back in Raro again soon. Cheers Diane and Junior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best charter in Rarotonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Awesome day fishing with Capt Willie on the Bobbie Marie. Willie being a local knows where to find the Yellowfin Tuna and Mahi Mahi. It was absolutely fantastic when you have 5 lines go off at once and then manage to land all 5 fish. It didn't stop there. Eagle eye Willie knows what to look for...lol. You couldn't ask for better. Your hosts Dianne and Junior are very professional, and the staff they have are the best we have dealt with. We recommend local knowledge and you get that with Marlin Queen. A day or two with Marlin Queen is recommend to all. Many thanks to you both for making our honeymoon memorable. We look forward to coming back next year. Bryan and Vanessa.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“120kg of Adrenalin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Awesome day fishing on the Bogi Marie care of Marlin Queen Fishing. A day in search of Mahi Mahi and Wahoo quickly turned to Yellowfin Tuna and then the unexpected. Capt Willie noticing the slightest touch on a bait went to investigate. Willie quickly called for me to speed up, slow down, speed up as the unknown fish hit the bait. The final call from Willie of speed up and slow down was met with the cry "we're on, strap in and wind". To our amazement we were on our first ever Marlin !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Fishing Charter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went on the Marlin Queen after high recommendation from our friends back in NZ.
It was a great day and the skippers were awesome! Very friendly, full of jokes and laughter, they also were very knowledgeable. Unfortunately we didn't have luck with a catch that day but we had a great boat trip and afternoon.
They gave us wahoo to take home which we cooked up and was tasty.
Will definitely be going back next time we are in Raro. Thanks guys :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Queen Fishing Charters also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Marlin Queen Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Queen Fishing Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.