We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
off Main Road | Avana, near Muri., Cook Islands
+682-25-553
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Auckland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We only managed to get here the once this trip in our last week next time we go it will be more often

Lovely setting down by the Muri Lagoon

The food is tops we both had Mahi Mahi and a salad,we had lots of salads on the island but this was the best,the fish just melted in the mouth and was just so fresh we can see why the Mooring is ranked No1

The staff are lovely and friendly and we loved the idea of the rocks with pictures on as your table number

Eating here is number one ,if like ourselves you have no transport its well worth the bus trip to eat here.

Looking forward to our return

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    84
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Yummy fresh food - cool setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a seared tuna sandwich with lime mayo $12 and a crumbed mahi mahi sandwhich also $12. Both really fresh and delicious and served on turkish bread. Loved the setting and it was a quick and easy lunch. I think they only take cash. The staff were very friendly. Well worth a visit one lunch time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a wonderful place with delicious food and friendly people. We ate many meals here and is probably the only thing we will miss food wise from Rarotonga. They even knew our usual order after two weeks of being there. The FOBs are to die for! Thanks mooring for your wonderful hospitality !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What everyone else said...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I can't add much to the fulsome praise by fellow travellers, escept to say,"Don't miss this!".
An absolute highlight of our short stay on Raro, we had three of our eight lunches on the island here. Great people, great location, GREAT food. Enough said.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The friendly staff, idyllic location, mouth watering FOB sandwich and other taste sensations are a must!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mooring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.