We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must go !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
off Main Road | Avana, near Muri., Cook Islands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“You must go !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a great find this place is. We read the TA reviews and headed to the Mooring. A simple set up, with tables overlooking the lagoon. Lots of versions of their fish sandwhich and all about $12. We had the local reef fish sandwhich with salad and their home made mayo, called the "FOB" just fantastic, so fresh. Friendly staff, what more could you ask for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    75
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It's not on any brochures, so people probably just stumble across it. Great food, great view, friendly service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yum! Oh no writing this is making me hungry...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Fresh tasty, great service and menu - and an authentic fishing setting - wish I was there right now.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The place to eat in Raro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Utterly amazing sandwiches. You will go back again and again. Don't be put off if you are not a fan of seafood like myself the Rusty's chicken sandwich is awesome. We ate there with dozens of friends and family on different days... Not one person had a bad sandwich! Everyone loved this place. Go... now, I wish I could.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Freshest Sandwich ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I didn't get the fish like everyone said I have to but got a BLT and it was still the most tasty sandwich I have ever had anywhere.
Great friendly service, Nice relaxing casual setting. Drinks and food were fresh, full of flavour and satisfied our very opinionated food loving family.
Stop in for lunch while you are doing a drive around the Island. The mooring cafe is an absolute must in Rarotonga

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mooring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.