We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to do lunch in Rarotonga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
off Main Road | Avana, near Muri., Cook Islands
+682-25-553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 88 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The only place to do lunch in Rarotonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found the Mooring Cafe by accident in passing and returned four times during our stay at Muri Beach. Captain Moko catches his own fish almost daily which avoids the constant "out of fish" message elsewhere in Rarotonga. This was without doubt the cusine highlight for us - don't miss it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious "On Board" Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

While hiking we stopped here for lunch. The "on board" was Mahi Mahi that day......caught that morning and on our lunch plate that afternoon....AWESOMELY GOOD!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheWittes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had lunch here on our first day, how wonderful this was. My husband had a sandwich and I had a salad and smoothie. We both enjoyed this very much and we did not need anything more. The service was great and as for the location, just amazing. What a wonderful place to have a meal. It more than just a shipping container as a place to eat. Top marks!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Studee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“No. 1 Meal We Ate in Rarotonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Forget those cheesy, overpriced dinner-on-the-beach places. This is where it's at. Super-laidback, picnic tables in the sun, right on the water, fish fresh off the boat, cooked to perfection, piled onto Turkish bread as large as your head, and served by a super-friendly Kiwi. Delicious. We loved every minute. Highly, highly recommended — don't leave Raro without stuffing your face here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gadfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“best sammy on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Whats the best sort of fish to eat? Fresh fish.

Discovered The Mooring into our second week on the island and OH MY GOSH- best sandwichs we have ever had. More of a giant burger than a sammy.
Generous servings of fresh fish with local salad ingredients and delicious homemade sauces. Definitely a must visit, I guarantee you will be going back again for lunch!

I would reccomend dining after 1pm to avoid the rush and also increase your chances of seeing Moko and his charter coming back in with their catch(your fish!)

They do not have a liqour licence but are happy for you to bring along your own.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing