We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious "On Board" Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
off Main Road | Avana, near Muri., Cook Islands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious "On Board" Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

While hiking we stopped here for lunch. The "on board" was Mahi Mahi that day......caught that morning and on our lunch plate that afternoon....AWESOMELY GOOD!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    70
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had lunch here on our first day, how wonderful this was. My husband had a sandwich and I had a salad and smoothie. We both enjoyed this very much and we did not need anything more. The service was great and as for the location, just amazing. What a wonderful place to have a meal. It more than just a shipping container as a place to eat. Top marks!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“No. 1 Meal We Ate in Rarotonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Forget those cheesy, overpriced dinner-on-the-beach places. This is where it's at. Super-laidback, picnic tables in the sun, right on the water, fish fresh off the boat, cooked to perfection, piled onto Turkish bread as large as your head, and served by a super-friendly Kiwi. Delicious. We loved every minute. Highly, highly recommended — don't leave Raro without stuffing your face here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best sammy on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Whats the best sort of fish to eat? Fresh fish.

Discovered The Mooring into our second week on the island and OH MY GOSH- best sandwichs we have ever had. More of a giant burger than a sammy.
Generous servings of fresh fish with local salad ingredients and delicious homemade sauces. Definitely a must visit, I guarantee you will be going back again for lunch!

I would reccomend dining after 1pm to avoid the rush and also increase your chances of seeing Moko and his charter coming back in with their catch(your fish!)

They do not have a liqour licence but are happy for you to bring along your own.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best eating from a shipping container. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A must-do. Really good casual food. Lovely, friendly service staff. Even after traveling on a scooter in a downpour to get a sandwich they made the trip worthwhile with their smile and promise it would be sunny as ever by 4pm (note: they were right!). The F.O.B. was our top choice. Worth every fried fish calorie! Came back a second time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mooring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.