We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mahi Mahi Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
off Main Road | Avana, near Muri., Cook Islands
+682-25-553
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Ensenada, Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Mahi Mahi Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very simple place, you sit outside on picnic benches, but the food is fantastic, the crumbed Mahi Mahi Sandwich is out of this world. We ate here several times an we were not disappointed. If you want beer or wine bring it as they don't have a license. Located right on the bay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    83
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great little find - well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The fishing club was recommended to us by the owner of our hotel, we were a little dubious at first as the fishing club is very small. What a find!! Delicious, freshly cooked fish and chips enjoyed sitting outside overlooking the picturesque blue ocean - what more could you want on a trip to Rarotonga!
Highly recommend for a nice casual lunch during your visit to Rarotonga.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Food is Addictive with a Fantasic View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

As I was riding my bike across the island on my 1st day in Muri Beach, I noticed The Mooring Fish Cafe and stopped by. There is a fantastic view as you approach the harbor which is a treat in itself. There is also a "thought of the day" which is funny and enriching as you walk up to the counter. This cafe is outside with picnic tables an umbrellas and magazines to keep the solo traveler entertained;-). The service is friendly and the best on the island! Jill the owner is my new friend and I will encourage the tripadvisor community to not pass up the cafe!!! It is a Must Do before you leave the Island.

Now, I ended up visiting this place everday that I could because the taste of the fish sandwiches lingered with me throughout the day and night. Initially, I had the Moko tuna sandwich with lime mayo, which began my love affair. Then I tried the Tijuana Cajun tuna with spicey pickle sandwich, which continued to entice my taste buds. Lastly, I tried the FOB (fresh off the Boat) crumbled Mahi Mahi with lime mayo, it was yummy for my tummy!! Last but not least, the driver of my addiction was the Turkish bread that holds together the sinful work of art that must be eaten daily while adventuring the island of Rarotonga!!!

The Mooring Cafe will be an unforgettable eating experience which I will always come back to enjoy!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best lunch on the island..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our island host told us about The Mooring on our second day in Raratonga. This relaxed local cafe is close to the water in a shipping container. Picnic tables sit on the deck outside. They sell a range of amazing fresh fish sandwiches and a few other items. The smoothies made with fresh bananas and passion-fruit are addictive, Service is great. We were there twice for lunch and twice to buy fresh tuna on the beach which we took back and cooked. Nirvana..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great fish burgers recommended by locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Quite large burgers with some tasty fish and zesty sauces, A little more salad would be nice but otherwise these were great. Love it. And a nice place by the water to eat.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mooring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.