We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food on the island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
off Main Road | Avana, near Muri., Cook Islands
+682-25-553
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best food on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visited The Mooring twice on our stay on the island, both times the food was excellent. The second time we were told there would be a wait on the Mahi Mahi salad, the fisherman were still cutting up the fish! We sat at our table and watched the fish being cut up, delivered to the kitchen then served to us in under 5 minutes! You can't get any fresher than that! You must also order a smoothie, best on the island : )

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    84
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went back 2 days in a row. Had the Mahi Mahi salad and the spicy Tuna - both fantastic. We took a couple of beers with us and there didn't seem to be any problem enjoying one with our meal. It can be pretty busy, we waited 25 minutes one day for our meals but only 5 minutes the next. It's just bloody fresh and delicious you must pop in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Fish Sandwiches on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Best views and best fresh fish sandwiches...What more could you need? Definitely my favourite lunch spot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“My favourite lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everybody raves about this place & with good reason. We ate here 4 times for lunch & I could done more. I just could go past the FOB Mahi Mahi sandwich. The lightly crumbed fish was so fresh & the bread was nice & light. Also had the fish skewers, which were great & other friends loved other things on their menu, but give me the FOB (fresh off boat) every time......yum !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh caught fish in a seaside cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

In this converted shipping container is a wonderful place for a lunch of fresh fish either with a salad or in a sandwhich, all made while you wait looking out on the lagoon. Along with it was a superb banana and passionfruit smoothie. We enjoyed it so much we went back the following day. Service was friendly and food is simply great. Not to be missed - you will love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mooring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.