We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makayla Palms Lagoon
Makayla Palms Lagoon
Makayla Palms Lagoon
Makayla Palms Garden
Outside view
Tiana dining and kitchen
Tiana kitchen
Rarotonga
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RaneeAuck...
Auckland
1 review
“Lovely Hosts - Beautifully Appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Thank you Rachel and John for welcoming us to Makayla. It was my first time in Rarotonga and we decided to stay at Makayla after a recommendation - we were not disappointed. The units were beautifully appointed, very clean and many thoughtful things left for the convenience of your guests eg rain coats, umbrella, little kitchen provisions, bowl of fruit etc - the gardens are beautiful and it was wonderful to be able to sample the best passion fruit I have ever seen or tasted - and just outside our front door. Whilst it is not right on the water front it is only steps away and Rachel's baking was another very thoughtful and delicious addition to what was a fabulous holiday. The hospitality was very friendly, helpful and we left feeling like old friends!! The sea kayaks and snorkelling gear only added to our fun. Thank you John and Rachel.
PS Being the self appointed Queen of G&T's I would like to suggest bigger wine glasses as these combined with large ice cubes,lots of your gorgeous limes/lemons help make a sensational G&T!!! Thank you Rachel and John - we would recommend Makayla to any one of our friends and will return.

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mac181102...
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully appointed villa with thoughtful and caring hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

We were met on arrival and shown through our villa which was sparkling clean and very well appointed.Fridge and pantry were stocked with a few basics,plus a bottle of wine and a sample of Rachel's excellent home baking.The accomodations are set in a beautiful garden which while not strictly "beachfront",less than a minutes walk on a grass path takes you to one of Rarotonga's best golden sand beaches with abundant fish life just a couple of meters from the shore. There were several restaurants within walking distance.As with anywhere in the Pacific Islands take your bug spray as most dining is open air.Our group ranged in age from 17 months to mid 60's,suitable to all.

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Titikavek...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Paradise Revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We made our second trip to Rarotonga and had our second stay at the beautiful Makayla Palms. Once again our hosts John and Rachel provided impeccable service. It was the second visit for my sister and I who celebrated her 50th Birthday while we were there. Just as two years earlier, nothing was too much trouble for John and Rachel. Rachel even got a hairdresser to come and cut our hair at the villas! We enjoyed the lagoon, which we basically had to ourselves most of the time, and the snorkelling was amazing. The only thing wrong was that our 12 days was over far too soon and we are in the throes of planning our next trip. And where will we stay? We have never considered staying anywhere else. After all, if it ain't broke - don't fix it!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$415
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
J D
Speaks English
Listed since : Jan 2012
Response Rate: 60 %
Calendar Updated: 120 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing