We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want to try the fish burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Takeaways

Palace Takeaways
Avatiu, Cook Islands
21438
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 79 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You want to try the fish burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Some of my workmates of Cook Islands descent had told me I had to try Palace Takeaways in Rarotonga so just before we dropped the car off and went to the airport we stopped by for lunch. This is no slap dash takeaway joint this is a well-organised place which takes pride in what they do and prepares a lovely fish burger - made with fresh tuna. You might want to plan some exercise afterwards to burn off the calories but it is worth a stop.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not so great..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Thank goodness we ate here on WED when burgers were on special..I wouldn't want to pay full price for it.
I asked for well done and it came out rare, yuk sent it back and got a new one.
Just not appetizing at all, think I would pass on this next time except for a cold coconut..can't go wrong with that:)

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Make sure you're super hungry if you're going to get their Palace Burger, which is massive.
Their cheeseburgers and fish n chips are good, and you can get a selection of burgers for $3.50 on Wednesdays which is great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worst hamburger ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

very disappointed. Somewhat embrassed to be australian, when i found out that NewZealand and Australia send all of there seconds meats to the island to say be utilised one is embrassed at the disgraceful sight of fatty un-eatable meats and i feel for the cook island people who have to eat it and the cost disgusting

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Feed on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Went here and ordered a burger, I think it was called the palace burger, and it was massive :-) . We would have spent around $40 and that was more than enough to feed 6 adults. It's a perfect setting for those wanting your typical fish and chips on the beach and the food is yummy. The ladies serving us were awesome as well. :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Takeaways also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Avarua, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Palace Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Takeaways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.