We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Cafe

Saltwater Cafe
Main Road, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
+682 20020
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 81 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Coffee Shop, Mexican, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stopped in here on my way to muri before a dive trip... Didn't have time to make it to muri so we decided to give the saltwater cafe a go ! Well I was pleasantly surprised., my beef burger was tasty as was my partners fish burger
Nice friendly staff! And good food! Well done

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    77
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped off for lunch there and had an excellent lunch, the tuna sandwich filled the spot on an extremely hot day, followed by a fruit smoothie. my partner's grilled tuna Roll was was excellent too. We found the staff to be very friendly and courteous, and also helpful with directions and advice for sight seeing venues.
We will definitely visit them again next time we are in Rarotonga, as the food, the ambience, and the service is first class

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

With so little open on Sundays, it was a treat to stop at the Saltwater Café (not open on Fridays or Saturdays) for lunch. I had a fish burger, which was excellent and really fresh. The staff are efficient and helpful. I also stopped here for morning tea on another day. Coffee is good and they even modified their menu to give me something more basic than their offerings - very grateful. It can get busy any day. The kitchen closes around 2pm, so get there before that.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On our holiday went round on scooters with sister and brother in law for lunch. They had been before and said it was great. Off we troddled and I have to say they were right! Nice food/view, and great service. Will definetely visit again as prices were also reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great stop off for Morning tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

we ate here on two occasions could not go past the excellent coffee, location and the piklets with Jam and cream. The location is halfway around the island with great views from the cafe over Titikaveka beach.The staff were very cheerful always willing to have a chat and the cafe is very busy which must show how good the food is for Breakfast and Lunch only. Note the Cafe is closed Friday - Saturday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater Cafe also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Saltwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwater Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.