We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 'cultural' experience in Raro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show

Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show
Rarotonga, Cook Islands | Arorangi Village, Cook Islands
682 219 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 49 Activities in Rarotonga
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best 'cultural' experience in Raro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Highland Paradise was by far the best cultural / educational experience we had in Raro.
The pick up was a bit late but I liked the relaxed attitude in Cook Islands overall.

We got a lot of information on the CI Maori culture and how the Vaka Puaikura (tribe) lived a couple of centuries ago. The Marae ceremony was breathtaking and the fabulous hill top surrounding only adds to the whole experience.

Food: The cocktail was weak but the food good and tasted authentic. I liked the spread of food at Highland Paradise better than at Te Vara Nui. Felt more of a authentic cultural experience.

Dance show: was fabulous and I keep on watching some of those dances we recorded!

Danny the man: was amazing and in deed a legend. You don't get fed up seeing him everywhere in Raro! But I think it's time for him to invent some new jokes.

You can grab a voucher book from the Tourist Info centre in Town which offers a discount on this attraction (among others). Making a booking beforehand is recommended. We called and made a booking the day before the show.

Meitaki for everybody at Highland Paradise for organising such a lovely and an authentic experience. Will visit again next time!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinomana, Owner at Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you kindly for such a well balanced and comprehensive review. I am sure a lot of people will find this very useful. As recent winners of the 2013 Tourism awards for #1 in culture and Best Tourist attraction, we are so happy that you also judged us to be the 'Best'. cultural experience. To be the best in culture is our highest goal. We strive to maintain the authenticity of this sacred site and the delivery of all things cultural especially through the cuisine and dance. We look forward to hosting you again in the future and perhaps after watching your recordings you may like to join us on stage next time for more cultural fun! Kia Manuia from Highland Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    52
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
seal beach ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highland paradise show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I would say give it a try~` Bus was late to pick us up not the best for your buck~~ Food was just so-so Seemed a bit disorganized ~~ Long tables ~ friendly staff ~ we would have chosen Te Vara Nui~ we are going back in May 14' will go there per guests our Palm Grove Resort

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinomana, Owner at Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are grateful for all our reviews, the great ones and the not so great ones as it is only through these reviews that we can improve our business. We have relayed all your comments back to the team who are very sorry that your experience in this instance was not 5 star. We will keep working on these issues. Meitaki maata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Entertainment Plus! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We are a family of 5. Kids 7, 11, 14. Every one enjoyed the show. How could you not? Thought we would struggle to keep the youngest going but she made it through the night and had a great time. A good mix of culture, humour, crowd participation, done in a way that educated and entertained. Well done and thanks from the kiwi contingent. PS loved the drumming and the dancing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinomana, Owner at Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that we were able to keep you and your children well entertained whilst being educated. We aim to keep guests of all ages engaged and entertained by mixing in the historical aspect in with lots of humor and interaction. We are happy that you enjoyed the drumming and dance as much as we enjoy performing them to you. It is because of your support that our culture lives on. Meitaki maata (Many Thanks) from the team here at Highland Paradise Cultural Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

On our last visit to Rarotonga, about 5 years ago, we were taken then to the embryonic Highland Paradise. The trip around the tribal living areas, seeing where the island's first people lived, loved, ate and killed, was educational and informative, the entertainment was then on only a par we have come to expect in Rotorua or Taupo.However, I thought the venture had good potential.

Returning again, this September, I found that potential had been realised. Absolutely and categorically, this was the best cultural experience I have ever experienced in this part of the world. It was incredibly informative, educational and entertaining. I would have no hesitation in recommending every visitor to Rarotonga to enjoy the wonderful experience that is Highland Paradise. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. By all means have a wonderful time at the beach and in the lagoon or at many of the fabulous restaurants or bars, but no trip to Rarotonga will be complete without a visit to Highland Paradise. It's a great experience and terrific value for money. And don't forget to count how many shirts host Danny wears during the show - there's a prize for the winner. A brilliant night's entertainment.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinomana, Owner at Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is reviews like these that make all the work in the background worthwhile. What a pleasure to host you for a second time and we are thrilled that you have noticed the many changes we have made to enhance your cultural experience. No two visits are exactly alike because of the level of interaction involved and the continuous research we undertake. We hope to welcome you to the Cook Islands again one day and of course host you at the Highland Paradise Cultural Centre. Kia Orana e Kia Manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Highland Paradise Show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just got back from Raro and a trip to the Highland Paradise show.

We were advised we would be picked up at 5:10 from our accomodation so we waited outside for the bus. At 5:40 the bus still hadnt arrived so I rang them to find out the buses were running late but would be by soon. Finally picked up at 6:15pm so was a long hour sitting outside our accommodation! Not a great start.

It was a quite trip to the venue, stopping for 5 minutes to get some history information on the island which was good. There wasnt enought seats on the bus so i was standing. Then the driver had to choose a "chief" of each tribe (each bus) and i was the lucky choice! It meant i had to do a few things throughout the night which was a bit of a laugh and even more of a laugh for my wife when I had to get up on the stage and do some cook islands dancing! haha

The cocktail provided was ok, the food i would say was fairly average as well but sufficient.

Something I think every person should do when visiting the island but not something I would rush back after doing in once.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinomana, Owner at Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience. We are very sorry that the bus was late on this particular evening. I have met with the bus company to address this issue. I am glad you were able to experience being a Rangatira (chief) , it is an honor only afforded to a few of our visitors and one that comes with great responsibility, including dancing as you well know. Your feedback is very much appreciated. Meitaki maata (Many Thanks) from all of us at Highland Paradise Cultural Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show also viewed

 

Been to Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.