We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit romantic.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flame Tree

Flame Tree
Muri, Cook Islands
+682 25 123
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 81 Restaurants in Rarotonga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“A bit romantic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Not far from where we stayed at Club Raro.nice atmosphere,good food,service,variety (seafood excellent) the price was ok , a bit on the high side,but ok for what you got.Reasonable drinks range

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    74
    37
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced and over reated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Disappointed with Flame Tree - this was our last night on Rarotonga. Cocktails pretty ordinary and I even wondered if they'd left the alcohol out. Food Ok but far to expensive, especially compared with other restaurants on the island. Went elsewhere for desert. Mosquitos bad - rive that outside seating beside looked to be full of rubbish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced for setting & food quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was the most expensive meal we had during our 9 days in Rarotonga, and meal was quite average in comparion to other beautiful restaurants we visited. There is very little 'atmosphere' to speak of (unless you count the monster eel in the pond at the front)
They are charging fine dining prices without the fine dining experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great setting and relaxed atmosphere. Service was good and food was acceptable but inconsistent. Eye fillet main was cooked perfectly but was missing the bacon as was stated on the menu description, fish was slightly overcooked, and pork belly was dry and chewy in places but did have awesome crackling! Despite this I would eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sensational food, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We only discovered this great restaurant on our penultimate evening at Muri but after our meal, we both wished we had eaten there on our first evening.

The menu choice wasn't huge, but the food was simply divine. Even the starters were a food lovers delight - fresh, amazingly we'll thought out flavours that set your taste buds tingling and left me wanting more. The main courses were a sheer delight - beautifully presented, tasted sensational and were again lovely fresh flavours that were well thought out and cooked to perfection.

The staff were lovely - friendly, but not pushy - and we both had one of the best meals we had ever eaten, in lovely surroundings, only a very short walk across the rugby field from our hotel, the Muri Beach Club.

We returned to the restaurant the following evening and our meal on our second visit was, if anything, even better than the previous evening's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Tree also viewed

Muri, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Flame Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flame Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.