We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best - great food & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flame Tree - CLOSED

Flame Tree
Muri, Cook Islands
+682 25 123
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
TAURANGA NZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Best - great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We tried a number of restaurants & this was our 4th time back to Raro so have a reasonable idea of where to go. Flame Tree is the best by miles! we ate their 3 nights of the 8 nights we were there.
Excellent menu choice and reasonable prices for Raro. Very friendly staff great all round. Definitely recommend u try Flame Tree.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    74
    38
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We dined at the Flame Tree on our last night in Raro - should have done it much earlier.

The menu was varied and the tuna the best with lots of local fresh vegetables.

Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the offerings. Able to offer suggestions.

Lovely setting and combined with the staff made for a very relaxing and comfortable dining experience dining experience.

Definitely on the list for our next visit to Raro.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Ending”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a fantastic dinner here on our last night on Rarotonga. It was superb and we enjoyed a very relaxing meal of mahi mahi and filet with mango cheesecake and coconut ice cream for dessert. In a beautiful setting with get service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

we dined twice at the Flame Tree .On both occasions the food and service were superb.The decor was subtle and relaxing ,with the resonable bill adding to the enjoyment!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bad & go elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Unfortunately our experience did not live up to Flametree reputation. The service was very very bad, entrees were 1hour and 15 minutes wait and waitress was only interested in getting us more drinks. Their excuse is nothing is prepared beforehand! Be careful where you sit as you may have to keep your hands permanently on the doors/windows to prevent them smashing into you and showering you in glass, not the ideal way to eat dinner. Food was average, there are much nicer places to eat with better service on the island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Tree also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Muri, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flame Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.