We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came in from the rain to a warm welcome and a cold beer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trader Jacks

Trader Jacks
Avarua, Cook Islands
+68226464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 81 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Came in from the rain to a warm welcome and a cold beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Caught out by the Tuesday afternoon closing of the shops in Avarua, the bus would be another 2 hours. When the rain came down and there was nowhere open to go, the beacon of light came from Trader Jacks where we could see people in the the open sided bar. After a couple of beers we chose to stay there for dinner which was a great choice as the food was excellent and such great value. They service was brilliant throughout and they ordered us a taxi back to the hotel.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    415
    183
    57
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a drink, food only average.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The attraction of Trader Jacks is definitely its location. Right on the water - it just doesn't get better. We had drinks here on several occasions - at reasonable prices, as well as an evening meal. The service was average, not outstanding nor indifferent - and the food the same. I think it is worth a visit for the location alone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great the first time, hit the mark a little this time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Trader Jacks is always worth a visit. The staff are super friendly and the location is great. May have just been poor choices on our part, but we didnt enjoy the food as much as our previous visit. Still, we would return again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Only ended up at the Vaka Bar! Bar staff were friendly and fast. Band that played was groovy and friendly too. Would recommend going to have drinks there anytime. View of ocean is beautiful at night.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a live ukele band going very entertaining yummy coctails and great food. reasonably priced. overall a good experience

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Jacks also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Trader Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trader Jacks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.