We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Mile 47.7 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed in three of the four Princess Lodges (Kenai, McKinley, Denali) while on our cruise-tour. The Kenai Princess was by far the best of the three. We would happily stay here again. The service and food in the restaurants were excellent. After a day of sight-seeing (the float trip on the river and the boat trip into Kenai Fjords were the highlights of our two week trip) it was always a pleasure to return each evening to the great food and the spectacular river and mountain view on the lodge deck.

Our room was exceptionally large and nicely appointed. The housekeeping details could be improved a bit -- a few dead bugs in the bathroom corners -- but the room was generally clean.

The staff was friendly and helpful. If/when we return to Alaska, a lengthy stay at the Kenai Princess will be high on the "to do" list. For spectacular scenery and comfortable accommodations it just doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    37
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
80
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent 2 days here having disembarked from the Sapphire Princess at Whittier. The Lodge is located at Cooper Landing in the middle of the Kenai Peninsula. Accommodation is very comfortable, spacious and has all the luxuries one would expect. We even lit the slow combustion fire, with the wood supplied to your room. We stayed in the 1200 block up the hill from the main Lodge, and enjoyed the small walk up and down. However, if you wish there is a shuttle service freely available at any time to take you to the Lodge Reception, Bar and main Dining Areas. The meals in the Restaurant range from $20-$35+ but there are cheaper snacks and meals available in the Bar. We also made good use of the small fitness area and there is also a Hot tub Spa. A well-stocked gift shop is also on site together with a General Store near the RV Camp site. After our Cruise, which was wonderful, this place offered a return to reality, a time to relax, contemplate, recuperate and free of the hype and go go go nature of ship life. Numerous tours are available. Take a short walk down the hill to the river and sit on the landing and take in the magic! This was one of 4 Princess Lodges in which we stayed and was far the best, due to its compactness, accessibility and scenery a plenty. Your rooms were huge with separate ding/lounge roon whereas all the others were typical Hotel style accommodation, still nice however, but Kenai was No.1 for us!

Room Tip: If you are relatively fit and healthy get a room further up the hill, otherwise ring for a shuttle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The rooms (cabin style) are super cute!! The in room wood stove with a glass door is a HUGE plus!! Service is excellent!! The bison chili is to die for!! LOVE it!! Great Denali red beer brewed just for the lodge. Espresso bar a plus!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford, Ct
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge was the biggest disappointment of our 12 day trip to Alaska - The rooms are comparatively expensive, so this was quite a surprise. We arrived a bit late after a fantastic hike to Russian River (which I highly recommend!!) where we had seen a mother grizzly and her two cubs fishing for salmon, so we were so thankful to be in Cooper Landing and drove into the Kenai Princess in excellent spirits. What we found when we arrived lacked personality, seemed to be poorly managed, and was far from what we expected. Our units were quite spacious, but the furnishings were akin to an older Holiday Inn Express. Also, the units were not well cleaned - for example the cleaning staff had left old, used soaps from prior guests all over the bathroom and the floors were not clean. I was thankful for the laundry facilities located in another building and the wi fi in the lodge, but the hotel lacked any personality and could have been located anywhere. The breakfast that we had the next morning was good but the service was quite poor even though there weren't many people dining at the time. We were happy that we had planned to only spend one night and I would recommend trying to find alternate accommodations. The location is great, but we were not satisfied with what we found and couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Our first stop after crusing the Inside passage to Whittier NC. The Lodge was good but could use some updating. Room was clean and we stayed in the 800 rooms which had a nice porch, but the mosquitos were humongous, but the view was nice of the mountains and lodge. Food was average but the food and beverage night manager Kim was great and went out of her way to fix any issues. Other servers I found were nonchalant as once they knew you were on voucher they were going to get their tips anyway.

If you don't like being captive or seclusion this is not th eplace for you. No shuttles to the little town of Cooper Landing with iis only 2 or 3 miles away and taxi service was $25.00.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was the last Princess Lodge on a seven day land tour.

The first was at Princess Denali. Views were great but accommodation was in two tiered terraces that were dark internally and you could hear someone brush their teeth four rooms away. Across the road was a mini Blackpool.

The next was Princess McKinley. We were lucky to see the top of the mountain - quite spectacular. Our interpretation of a wilderness lodge is one scattered across the hillside. Princess's idea is to build a complex that can accommodate at least 2000 people has numerous shops but a restaurant that cannot cope with so many people. We arrived late in the evening and had to leave by 8-00am the following day. At 7-00am we were told the first table available for breakfast was 7-45am. We ended up with a cookie and a cup of coffee.

We were staying at Kenai for nearly two days. It was our vision of a wilderness lodge. Terraces of six lodges spread about. The accommodation was great and included a living room with settee, armchair and table and chairs. There was also a log burning fire. It was not particularly cold but the smell was divine. Plus someone else cleared up the mess!

However the experience was spoilt by the restaurant.

On the first evening the bottle of wine - which cost five times as much as in a UK supermarket - arrived at room temperature. I had to ask for a bucket of ice. It was evidently the first day they were open. Breakfast the following morning was even worse. Service was so slow and when the diced breakfast potatoes arrived they had been kept warm for so long they had congealed back into one potato again. The evening started with another request for a bucket of ice.
Breakfast the following morning was the worst of all. As we arrived we were wished the best of luck by some departing people who had had breakfast. Americans only seam to have ham omelettes if it is with cheese. I told the waitress on at least three occasions that I wanted ham only. We waited and waited. A couple arrived on the table behind us and said they would have the buffet breakfast. After ten minutes the waitress asked if they were having breakfast. They said they were but all the food dishes were empty! After over 30 minutes our breakfasts arrived. My omelette had cheese in it. At that point I left and had a muffin in the cafe.

It was such a shame that our stay which was really good was spoilt by the food and service in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid the Restuarant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Service was grindingly poor! We watched the waitress spend 15 minutes chit-chatting with two women during our breakfast order. When the food arrived it was cold - the heated plates were actually warmer than the eggs! The waitress offered to replace the cold potatoes and the mgr offered to replace the meals. However, waiting for another 25 minutes was not in our schedule.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile 47.7 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Cooper Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenai Princess Wilderness Hotel Cooper Landing
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge Cooper Landing, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.