We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but some updates needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
17245 Frontier Circle, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
907-595-1425
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but some updates needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a very well designed lodge with great customer service -- very friendly and helpful front desk staff!

With that said, the hotel needs several updates:
-- Linens -- pillows, sheets and covers need severe updates (foam pillows are so 1980s)
-- Bathrooms -- time for updates including updates on amenities (liquid soap at these rates?)
-- Refrigerators -- why don't these rooms have small fridges?

We appreciated the updates of carpet and wall coverings and access to computers in the lobby.

We would stay here again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice outdoor Deck dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Away from the main highway through Cooper Landing. Great views and large open deck when the weather is nice. Food was good but not memorable and many menu choices for lunch. Service was just OK....perhaps our waiter was having an off day. Still would go back

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“An outstanding restaurant in a beautiful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We ate 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts at the Eagle's Crest Restaurant. All meals were very delicious and the portion sizes were large. The prices were more reasonable than we expected with it being in Alaska. The bison chile was to die for! The service was also excellent, with fast services and very caring and sweet waitresses. I just wish the restaurant wasn't so far away from South Florida.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the mountains.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We enjoyed our room, which had a rear deck overlooking the resort, two double beds, a wood burning fireplace with all the extra would you would need. The place was our best hotel while in Alaska. The restaurants were good, the hot tub was soothing and we enjoyed every minute.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location. Not as good an experiene as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Beautiful views and great prime ribs. Nice crew.
Unfortunately, roof windows that cannot be darkened make it more difficult to get asleep. Beds less comfortable than you'd expect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge also viewed

 
Cooper Landing, AK
 

Been to Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.