We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite in Cooper Landing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwin's Lodge

Gwin's Lodge
14865 Sterling Highway, Milepost 52, Cooper Landing, AK
907.595.2166
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: The historic Gwin's Lodge is located in Cooper Landing in the Kenai Peninsula in south central Alaska, which is known as "Alaska's playground." We are the closest lodging near the confluence of two world-class salmon streams - the Kenai River and the Russian River. Gwin's Lodge is open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and has 12 cabins that can each accommodate 4 to to 6 guests and two cottage houses that can each accommodate up to 8 guests.
Homer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My new favorite in Cooper Landing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights in one of Gwins cabins. We had breakfast at the restaurant both mornings. Best breakfast around and very generous portions! Delightful, attentive waitresses and a real Alaskan feel to the place make this the best in cooper landing :) Thanks Gwins! We live in Homer and will most definitely make this a regular stop :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWJ_TX, Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for letting us know we're doing something right! We appreciate your business! Please help us spread the word in Homer! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well done. New owners doing it right.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The new owners have really done a good job of bringing Gwins restaurant back to life. It's very similar to how it's been in the past (less the cash register area when you walked in). Food was fine and will still be a nice place to stop in on a Sunday afternoon on your way back home.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWJ_TX, Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Allen, We are so glad you stopped by to see the remodeled log roadhouse. It was a lot of hard work but we're glad that it was done and everyone seemed to like it. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George, Utah
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Upside Down and Sideways!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Keep your hat roped to your head when you enter this place...

The scenery to and from this place will blow you away. But let's face it... You7 and the roadies are HUNGRY!

DO NOT PASS THIS PLACE UP! NO MATTER WHAT!

Gwin's is a historical landmark for visitors to the Kenai Penninsula.

The fllors are tilted. and your marble WILL roll.

Have fun - spend money on a souvenir. You will be glad you did.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWJ_TX, Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
This has to be one of the funniest reviews I've read! Thank you for your recommendations and for giving us feedback! We kept the floors slanted even though we put new hardwood flooring down to keep its charm. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Better than sunrise cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pretty standard food, burgers, pizza, salads etc. We did lunch and takeout and were happy both times...not a lot of options in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWJ_TX, Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. You're a hard grader! By the way, we offer typical American homecooking but we don't have pizza on our menu. Thanks for stopping in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling from Anchorage to Homer and decided to stop here for lunch and we are glad we did. The restaurant was pretty busy when we stopped by at about 1pm and was filled with what appeared to be locals and tourists like ourselves. It was very cozy and comfortable, exactly what we were looking for. My wife had the Halubut burger as I had the Halubut basket. The fish was incredibly fresh, not too greasy at all and very flaky and a good suze portion for both of us. The tartar sauce they used really accompanied the fish well as everything, including the fries seemed fresh. I am not sure if it was just the day, but the only complaint was that the food took forever. The kitchen was incredibly busy and there wasn't an openly table in the whole place, but we noticed that they sent ALL the food out for most of the tables, including ours, at the same time, but we didn't all show up together. Nonetheless it was not enough of a problem to stop us from going back someday. The waiterss we had was incredubly busy, but did not let that stop her from being very friendly and attentive. If you are heading towards Homer, it is on the left, just as you cross back over the river- don't miss it, it is worth the stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWJ_TX, Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Tim, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am very glad you loved the food. We have addressed the issue you raised with our kitchen staff. You caught us on a very very busy day. Thank you for stopping in and we hope to see you more this Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwin's Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Gwin's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwin's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.