We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska River Adventures

Alaska River Adventures
Mile 48 Sterling Highway, PO Box 725, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
907-595-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With over 30 years guiding in Alaska, we’ve guided thousands to Alaska's best spots... a few at a time.Rare permits let us fish in the National Wildlife Refuge where the best fishing and wildlife viewing is found. All of our guides are well seasoned old pros and we provide top quality equipment. Choose from lots of options – everything from half day fishing to week long all inclusive lodge packages and Wilderness River Expeditions.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

With numerous guided fly fishing trips under my belt, I've seen all ranges of services that guide outfitters provide. Alaska River Adventures rates five stars with me in all areas. Those important areas for me are: knowledge of the fishing areas, safety, friendliness and personalities of the guides, the guide's knowledge, and willingness to accommodate to individual preferences of the client. I've seen and personally experienced Alaska River Adventures to continually exceed in all of these important facets of a guide operation. I wish other guided operations would take a page out of this operation's policy book.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    4
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chugiak, Alaska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“white rapids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you like white rapids river rafting, this is definitely the adventure for you. Sometimes it makes your hair stand on end because, boy, that water's cold and you definitely don't want to take a dive. But the guides are knowledgeable and add confidence to your bold experience, so it's definitely worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Float”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Alaska River Adventures offers a variety of activities on the Upper Kenai River. We chose the raft float tour. We chose this tour because it is a relaxing trip, as opposed to white water rafting. The guide was excellent, and he pointed out several eagles and a pair of bear cubs cavorting on the bank. Great scenery for photography.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Guide...great Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

On my Dream Adventure to Alaska from Texas... after waiting 35 years I finally made it. Booked through Orca Lodge, my package included a float rainbow trout trip down the Upper Kenai River Canyon and WHOA!!!! it was the most awesome. The guide was incredible. he knew that river and every pocket and gravel bar where we would pull out some sweet bows, ready for a fight. Fly fishing or light weight tackle is killer up there. The guide we used is no longer there, but now they continue to have good guides that will make your adventure come real!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Kenai Float boat experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was an excellent tour, well worth the money all equipment was provided and the rower gave commentary along the river, er did come close to black bears twice which was good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska River Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Alaska River Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska River Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alaska River Adventures to your Saves list