We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every second of our 30 hours' flight from Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aitutaki Beach Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aitutaki Beach Villas
Save
You added Aitutaki Beach Villas to your Saves list
Amuri Beach, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth every second of our 30 hours' flight from Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our family (two kids of 8 and 5) really liked the frendliness of our host Vaa (we miss you!) and the comfort of villa nr. 4. We spend there 12 days in April and May 2014. Honneymoon trip from Europe! Everything was just perfect, relaxing, doing nothing, enjoying the different sounds of roosters, grilling, drinking Matutu, taking private lagoon cruise (very much recommend), enjoying the view of lagoon from the "highest peak", exploring the mud crabs... Only excelent words I can say about our stay and very much agree with other guest here, I share all the thoughts. And the fish in the see!!! I think often of this heaven on earth and would very much like to come back (even though is very very far for us)!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and myself and another couple recently spent a week on gorgeous Aitutaki. We chose not to stay at a resort but rather preferred to 'do our own thing'. Aitutaki Beach Villas were the perfect choice and we would go back there again on our next trip.Our villas provided us with everything we could need and were very clean and literally on the beach. It is in the best central position on the island so that scooter trips either way weren't too long. Managed by the very capable and friendly Va'a, who really made our stay 'easy', fun and relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble. From recommending and booking trips and restaurants to sourcing golf clubs and organising a surprise birthday cake, Va'a was just great - so a big shout out to him from Tauranga!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Would totally recommend Aitutaki Beach Villas. We went the last week in June in a group of 6 to celebrate a special birthday and had a truly relaxing and enjoyable time. Villas 1 & 2 are right on the beach with 3 & 4 just behind but equally lovely view of the beach. Villa 1 may be a bit warmer as it doesn't have the second storey for the heat to rise but has two fans (aircon doesn't work). The other villas also have wooden shutters for better air flow or blocking of sun. Great having large fridge for food and refreshments.

Vaa is a perfect host and takes away any hard decisions that you think have to be made, from booking reef trips to organising car and bike hire.

We went with Andrew on Kia Orana cruises for a lagoon tour (A MUST) fabulous crystal clear waters and tons of fish when snorkelling. We also used Black Pearl fishing charters and caught two large Tuna.

Tupuna's was great for dinner, Boatshed and Koru Cafe for lunch and would also recommend Pacific Cove for cocktails overlooking the sunset. However we ended up eating in 3 nights on our verandah with the group as the setting to watch the sunset is probably one of the best spots.

The water out front of the bungalows is lovely and definitely good for a snorkel with heaps of fish around the bommies.

Food selection is pretty good considering they have at least 4 different stores including SuperStore which has great selection of wines so wouldn't stress about not being able to get much on the island. Aquila Servo has fab fresh bread available.

Mozzies were out at sunset but not as bad as we thought they would be. Aeroguard a must and coils are sold at the supermarket.

Would definitely recommend a stay here as there are only 4 villas, it is very quiet and absolutely gorgeous view, comfy bed and great verandah and hammocks.

PS it is true about the roosters, start at about 2am and go until dawn !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our stay at Airutaki Beach Villas will be one that I think about often, and that will always bring a smile to my face. My family and I had ten truely wonderfull days there in Villa 3 with Vaa as our perfect host. 

The villa is big enough for a family of four, with two beds upstairs. The bathroom is good, kitchen likewise. You have to eat outside though (there are no dining chairs or table inside), so eat your dinner early, away from home or in the dark. We appreciated the outdoors shower, the comfortable beds and the veranda outside. Mosquito coils will do magic, and ear plugs are good if you're light sleeper. (Roasters sound from 6 AM all around the island.) 

The property is right on beach. And this beach is beautifull. You can swim, snorkle, kanoe, beachcomb, walk, jog or whatever your heart desires. At night the sky is almost blurry by all the stars. 

The island is a beautifull and utterly relaxing place to stay. The perfect place to unwind. I recommend Island night at Tamanu, island cruise with Kia Orana, diving with Bubbles Below, fishing with X (see my review though), take away from Mango, lunch at Koru, but most of all relaxing at the Villa/beach. 

Our host(s), Vaa and his wife, were perfect hoats. Always friendly, accomodating, helpfull and had time enough to chat and give good advice about everything we wanted to know. The stay would not have as great without them. I think about them often and wish them the best! 

I recommend this place with all my heart. (Villa 2 - truely beachfront - and 3 - slightly behind nrb 2- are the best in my opinion.) 

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in villa 1 for 7 days.
Va'a was a wonderful host. He was at the airport waiting with a great big smile.
Va'a then took us for a drive around town to show us where all the shops and services were which was really helpful. He was so helpful and available when we had a query or wanted to arrange a booking.
The villa was perfect for our needs we loved being able to walk out from Villa and snorkel at any-time.
The scooter was great way to explore the whole island and find different places to snorkel, we extended our hire so we could have it the entire time.
We went on the entertaining TeKing snorkelling trip which was a great day. Va'a also arranged two great fishing trips.
We took our own mossie coils and insect repellent which we used at night, the local shops stock all of this anyway, including a adequate variety of groceries if you are prepared to visit several shops..
Restaurants and cafes were great. Recommend going to a mass on Sunday to experience the wonderful singing and sense of community.
Very chilled holiday....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We loved every minute of our stay at Aitutaki Beach Villas. Va'a our host was extremely welcoming and his attention to detail was fantastic. We really appreciated the trip into town to stock up on supplies when we first arrived and his recommendations of things to see and do. Our favourite part of our stay here was the fantastic snorkeling right on our doorstep. (In fact, you could walk out and see tropical fish not even 1 metre off shore!) We snorkeled a few locations in aitutaki and this stretch of beach directly in front of the villas was the best!
We could not recommend staying here enough and hope to come back one day.

Our only recommendation for improvement would be to possibly supply some bug spray or mosquito coils in the rooms as the insects here can get bad night but this is the only a small improvement i would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at villa number 4 for 6 nights. Vaá picked us up from the airport and made us feel at home from the first moment on. He showed us around the island a bit and took us to the grocery stores so we could stock up food (although price wise and to have a bigger choice we'd recommend to do that in Rarotonga). The villa was clean and well equipped, the location on the island is great, snorkeling is awesome just a few meters into the water. For swimming it isn't ideal because the corals are everywhere and you have to watch out so you don't bump into them. Still for refreshing yourself it's fine. Having the Kayaks was a plus as well. Vaá also gave us good advice on what to do on the island, a tour operator for the lagoon cruise and so on. It was an amazing week and we were totally relaxed. Overall a perfect stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aitutaki Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Beach Villas

Address: Amuri Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Private and self-contained Bungalows. If it is Honeymoon, anniversary, family or holiday makers - we offer beach location, simplicity, privacy and your home away from home. We're a small accommodation business and owned by the Tini family. We're "small, beautiful and lovely." Our bungalows come equipped with modern kitchen facilities, Kingsize beds, single beds, hot shower, a large refrigerator, CD-music player, linen etc. Excellent beach, snorkeling, kayaking and great sunset views. We have four bungalows and can house up to 3 persons or 4 persons for family (2x adult and 2 x child). We can organise lagoon cruise, tours, dive, fishing etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Beach Villas Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aitutaki Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.