We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samade on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Samade on the Beach to your Saves list
Samade on the Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ootu Beach | PO Box 75, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Invermay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Beautiful place and people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A gorgeous spot. Much better place to enjoy the feel of the island than the 5 star resorts. Thanks to the staff for making it so enjoyable, especially Elaine and Lexie.Rooms are basic but clean and bed was very comfortable.
The food was very nice and cafe Koru is just a short stroll down the road for a great coffee and some more local charm.
The included breakfast was pretty basic but plentiful.
We hope to return again soon and would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Odd numbers get the afternoon sun so can be a bit hot on the verandah on the afternoon. Cabin 1&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
48
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at Samades were wonderful! They provided bug spray when I was getting bit, helped us to navigate around food aversions on the menu and were especially friendly. The fish salad with prawns was cooked to perfection with tender prawns and flaky fish on a bed a greens with capers and olives as was the grilled fish on a bed of local spinach with carrots. Our meals were made all the more enjoyable by the stunning view of the gorgeous lagoon.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great little place run by a wonderful husband and wife team. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice a little dreary inside but clean. I am returning again next year and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georges Basin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As soon as we arrived in Aitutaki we knew this holiday was going to be special. We booked to fly to Aitutaki the day before from staying on Rarotonga as we were not going to miss a stay in beautiful Aitutaki, Sitting at the airport we made a phone call to Thomas and Lizzie and were instantly welcomed and had our accommodation secured. We were greeted with a friendly beautiful smile by Lizzie and welcomed like we belonged by the staff at Samade on The Beach.The hosts Thomas and Lizzie put us up in a room which was perfect and gave us a beautiful cocktail to welcome us. The accommodation was perfect the room was lovely and was air conditioned. We hired a bike to get around the Island and this was organised by our beautiful hosts. Everything was so convenient a level walk to everything. The swimming was clear and beautiful so enjoyable and the meals we had every night in the lovely restaurant looking over the water with a lovely variety of scrumptious meals. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to make us feel warm welcomed and cared for. We went on a day cruise with Bishops Cruises with Kimi the Captain who made it fun to one foot Island where we had a delicious lunch. The boat crew were very friendly and we snorkeled for a large part of the day with a 'When I get hungry we will have lunch" a very relaxed day was beautiful.It was very hard to leave this Island but we will be back and looking very much forward to having this beautiful breathtaking holiday once again Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a truly unforgettable holiday. We leave our tick of approval for Samade on the Beach after you read this put Samade on The Beach on your to do List before you leave this earth. Kerrie Hamilton and James Marsters

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Greater Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My partner Roy and I visited Samade on the Beach (Aitutaki Village) in November 2014 for our anniversary. Of all the locations in Aitutaki, Samade by far had the best view and lagoon location, I am so glad we spent our entire trip in Aitutaki. From the moment we arrived we felt instantly relaxed and at home. The setting is stunning, the restaurant and bar overlook the most mesmerising lagoon. We stayed in Cabin 10 which had all you need for a beach stay, mini fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, bathroom was clean and clean and comfortable bed. There is no TV, but when you are staying in Paradise who really wants to waste time with TV. There were kayaks and stand-up paddle boards available for free for guests and with such amazing lagoon and reefs surrounding Samade we definitely made use of these, make sure to visit the uninhabited islands opposite Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and Spa, for some snorkelling amongst the reef. Remember to pack reef shoes, as coral cuts are possible and ridiculously sore. Koru café is a short walk from Samade if you need a caffeine fix. We ate mostly at Samade but after a week of the same food we did branch out to Pacific Resort and Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and Spa for lunch, which was ok but nothing amazing, the staff were rude and stuck up. Highlight of our trip were the staff, from the second we arrived we felt like we were family. Liz and Thomas always made sure we were looked after. Lexi arranged for a car hire on Sunday so we wouldn’t miss the Church service with Cook Islands Christian Church (which is a must do on the agenda). The restaurant and bar staff always greeted us by name and made sure we were having a great holiday, thank you Elaine, Nga, Rosa, Lexi, Melanie, Jasmine, Baby, Pero and Ruby. You guys made our holiday unbeatable, it is a real credit to

Room Tip: Make sure to bring reef shoes and lots of suncream and insect repellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I stayed at Samade with my husband for 9 days on our honeymoon. Samade definitely has the nicest beach on the island. The views of the lagoon are unlike anything we had ever seen before; absolutely amazing. The accommodations themselves were very nice; be warned though that this is not a luxury hotel or resort. It is very rustic but well kept. The owners do a nice job in maintaining the property, we saw staff all day long attending to the grounds. The staff was also great in helping us set up tours (fishing, snorkeling, etc) and dinner reservations. Samade itself is a bit removed from the rest of the island, but everything is conveniently accessed with a scooter and there is a scooter rental right down the road. The hotel also provides free stand-up paddle boards and kayaks which was really nice.
I knocked off a star for the following: the food was mediocre at best, we were very disappointed with the island night (this seemed to be a common theme with other hotels too though, we didn't even bother going to one on Raro). I was also a little upset that the property was under construction and we were not notified of this (I made my reservation 9 months in advance). I think we should have been told of the construction or at least given a discount or a meal comp'd, something (nothing like sitting on the beach on your honeymoon listening to hammers and drills). Overall though we had a nice stay and it looks like the new owners are working hard to improve the property.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamadeBeach, Owner at Samade on the Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hello Jamie......Kia Orana from Aitutaki...
Many thanks for your positive and constructive comments about your stay with us. Be assured that we do take your comments very seriously.
We do have a wonderful location and we are striving to improve the facilities and services to compliment this.
I do apologise for our short comings.....in particular our food and our Island Night. We are challenged with supply being a very small island so there are times when we struggle with food content and delivery. We are working hard to counter these challenges.
Regarding the construction.....again I apologise for this.....Whilst we communicated our status through our Trade and Public avenues, we struggled with our reach to the expanse of the Northern Hemisphere markets. FYI we still have a number of other projects to attend to to improve this product further since taking over in August 2013.
Despite all this we are delighted that your overall experience with us and of Aitutaki was a goiod one and hope that one day in the future we will have the privelege in welcoming you back.
All the very best....
Team Aitutaki Village / THOMAS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We were here mid November (stayed in cabin 10) and this is by far the best place i've ever been to! It was worth every penny! The most beautiful beach and best views i've seen! The friendly staff made it all more unforgettable, they were all so warm and welcoming. The food was great, island night was fun, the room was comfortable, and the location will definitely take your breath away! The kayak's and stand up paddle boards were free so i was pretty much paddling out every morning before breakfast! No TV but we'd rather be in the water or by the bar having laughs with the staff! There was no hassle at all and was a very relaxing environment. They arranged a transportation rental for us which was so easy and convenient. The Koru cafe is close by if you want to try other restos although i just went there for coffee. We got on the Bishop's cruise and met George the giant travelly and Kimi the funny captain! That was one of the highlights of our trip. We'll miss this place and the people who made it such an amazing experience for us so we'll definitely come back!!! Thanks a lot to Thomas, Lizzie, Elaine, Lexie, Nga, Baby, Jasmine, Rosa, Melanie, Taka, Pero, Ruby, Jason and rest of Samade staff! We'll hopefully see you soon!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamadeBeach, Owner at Samade on the Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hello Roy......Kia Orana from Aitutaki....
The team here send their fondest greetings to you and look forward to your return.
Many thanks for the kind words of support regarding our services and facilities. It is work in progress as we endeavour to improve all our facilities to compliment our beautiful location.
Thanks again and until next time....do take care...
Cheers.....
Team Aitutaki Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samade on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samade on the Beach

Address: Ootu Beach | PO Box 75, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samade on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samade on the Beach is a small boutique resort on Aitutaki in the Cook Islands. Samade is situated on the white sandy beach of Ootu (full moon) on the south eastern point of the island. Our property provides a quiet and relaxing environment on the edge of the protected Aitutaki lagoon, ideal for swimming and water activities.The Polynesian inspired restaurant and bar has stunning views and is located on the lagoons edge. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is available, we also offer special dinner evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Samade on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samade On The Beach Hotel Aitutaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samade on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.