We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Regained!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cove Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Cove Lodges to your Saves list
Paradise Cove Lodges
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Amuri, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Aitutaki B&B and Inns
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Paradise Regained!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I really don't want to write anything good as I'd prefer the world didn't know about this amazing place! I had tried to book 7 nights but they had a wedding party there (all arranged by Paradise Cove) and they'd booked the whole resort. When we arrived most of the party were leaving that day and they were all in absolute awe of the place and gave us the run-down of how fantastic Paradise Cove was....and they weren't wrong! Our Beachfront Bungalow was just that!!.....on the beach and just a few steps to the edge of the lagoon. The water was amazing for swimming and snorkelling but most of the other resorts along the beach only had 'ankle deep' water as Junior (aka Tere), the owner, had cleared the area infront of Paradise Cove for this very purpose. The bungalow was 'no frills' but clean and functional (with a great shower!!) and perfect for a beachside holiday, (after all...it's only for sleeping in!!...if you want a room with all mod cons, then pay the extra $300 per night at one of the bigger resorts!!). Our deck had been built around an existing coconut palm so always a good idea to look upwards every now and again! Hire a scooter on site and, after taking a tiki-tour around the island head to The Boatshed, with amazing views of the lagoon, for snacks or a meal. There's dine-in or takeaway restaurant serving fish, burgers etc just 2 mins along the beach and several supermarkets close by. (If you like a wine or a beer, best to buy before you get to Aitutaki as some supermarkets can (understandably) be quite exensive). This is the ultimate getaway holiday if you just need time to relax and re-charge your batteries. If there's something you need, just ask and if they've got it, Paradise Cove will supply! LOVE LOVE LOVE!! Thanks Paradise Cove!!...you were AMAZING!!

Room Tip: Who cares when you all have the same amazing view??!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    87
    21
    8
    14
See reviews for
28
177
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The plus of this acommendation is its cute bungalows on the beach. It is great to enjoy sunrises from there. They are small but clean and have a nice style.

However, we had to move to a garden bungalow and this one was not that nice. They do not seem to focus on nice decoration, so the garden bungalow looked uncomfortable and even a water cooker was missing.

Swimming is not really possible most time as there are corals and it is really shallow. But at high tides you can go into the water and even snorkel around a little bit. However, there are better snorkeling spots on the island.

Bungalows contain a kitchen but to buy stuff or to go to the main village + habor you need to rent a scooter. So budget travelers should consider to live more centrally located. Otherwise location is nice.

We have lived at a slightly cheaper and centrally located place before and they have provided some nice extras such as a fruit basket, free tea & coffee and shower gel. Paradise cove did not have any of this. However they have us one breakfast for free.

It was nice and still cheap ($47 p.P), but depending on what you want, there might be better deals on the island.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved our three nights at Paradise Cove, the bungalows have a beautiful outlook right on the beachfront, all with balconies. The service was fantastic, we were greeted at the airport by Joe with fresh coconuts & leis. We were set us up with a scooter as soon as we arrived & so we could get into exploring the island. Great snorkeling just out from the rooms too, with loungers on the beach. We loved the wednesday island night buffet, great local friendly atmosphere, tasty food selection & excellent value. Rooms were simple, clean, well appointed (with cooking facilities) and perfect for our requirements. Was so easy to book day tours with a free office phone for all guests to use. Nothing was too much trouble, Joe even treated us to a coconut picking & husking demonstration on the beach! good fun. On the next trip, we will skip the commercial Raro experience & head straight for Aituaki paradise!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently returned from wonderful stay at Paradise Cove in a beachfront bungalow. Yes they are basic and located close together, but the beautiful, uncrowded beach and the friendly ambience makes up for that. Joe and his staff were all so helpful. We cooked in the tiny (but perfectly functional) kitchen & ate on our deck overlooking the lagoon on several nights and it was really lovely. There is a fantastic organic fruit & vegetable market & cafe (Tunomos) just down the road that also does freshly baked bread. The quality of the Island Night buffet food was really great - definitely worth attending. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a great stay at Paradise Cove during my recent Kiteboarding trip. Everything I wanted was at my fingertips thanks to great hosts, Terepaii & Joe. I booked a beach front bungalow for a week which was fantastic, (Suit a couple or two mates) then because of the great kiteboarding and cost of stay at Paradise Cove, I decided to stay another week. I stayed in a garden Bungalow (Larger for a group/family) for the second week as all the beach front spots were booked! So book ahead and be prepared not to want to leave!

If your focus is kiteboarding you are in the right spot, the flat water lagoons of Honeymoon Island & One foot island are legendary for learning, & freestyle training. Plenty of deep water too if you ride a Race board. During my stay, our Host Terepaii was awaiting his new jetboat which would offer the quickest shuttle for kiteboarders to the shallow lagoons.

Off the water, Paradise Cove can arrange any of the Islands tours/Activites. They have a fleet of Tidy Scooters for exploring Aitutaki & Getting around. Especially trying all the different eateries in the evenings. However, the bungalows have cooking facilities & there are plenty of stores to buy supplies. If it is Wednesday, you do not want to miss the BBQ night, an awesome buffet of local foods, culture & hospitality.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Aitutaki & Paradise Cove. It has been my 4th trip to Aitutaki & first stay at Paradise Cove, Best bang for my buck so far!

Room Tip: Beach front Bungalows. Double your stay, you'll end up wanting to anyways. Everyone I met there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Paradise Cove for 2 nights in June 2013 and it was perfect. The staff were friendly, the room was beautfiul (right on the beach) and the 'island food buffet' on Wednesday night was incredible. We will definitely go back and couldn't recommend it more for medium budget travellers.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great setting with bungalows right on the beach. The bungalows are very basic. Don't go expectnig 5 star, because it just isn't. The breakfast is extremely basic, and the breakfast room is very hot and stuffy. You have to buy bottled water, but they take you to the shops in the main town when they pick you up from the airport so you have an opportunity to grab anything you need. The staff are quite nice. We had a mouse in a room one night!

It's a great place for sitting on the balcony and watching the sunset.

Room Tip: You could request a bungalow based on what kind of view you wanted - we had a couple of trees in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Cove Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Lodges

Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Cove Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Cove is located on one of the best sandy beaches on the island of Aitutaki, Cook Islands, with great swimming and snorkeling areas. Paradise Cove is locally owned and operated by the people of Aitutaki. We offer self-catering bungalows right on the beach. Our philosophy is to share our beautiful culture and unique island with visitors from all over the world. We have 10 Beachfront Bungalows right on the beach for singles or double/twin travelers and 2 Garden Suites (just right behind the beachfront bungalows) suitable for families of 4 persons. From the balcony of your private beachfront studio take in the magnificent lagoon scenery. In the evenings relax as the sun sets, giving you the most breathtaking scene in Aitutaki. Experience great hospitality at Paradise Cove with warm and friendly staff that will enhance your stay on the island of Aitutaki. See the whales in all their splendor going past the reef of Paradise Cove Lodges from your balcony during whale season. Meet Terepai Junior (the owner) for some fishing or snorkeling excursions.Every Wednesdays is 'Buffet Night' of delicious local food for $29 NZD per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paradise Cove Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Aitutaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Cove Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.