We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine wonderland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aitutaki Lagoon

Aitutaki Lagoon
Cook Islands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Aitutaki
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These waters are home to a large number of fish, making it a favorite spot for snorkeling or scuba diving.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pristine wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Everything to like and nothing to dislike. Visibility under water amazing. The colours of the coral and under water life simply amazing. The lagoon is picture postcard perfect. This was our second trip and it was so good we are going back again next July

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paihia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Out and about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Loved everything except the price of the airfare from Rarotonga. Very expensive. The restaurants/ cafes are generally very good. The Boat Shed we thought was very good value for money. Tamanu Beach resort also good and a 5 minute walk from Eta Moana. Highly recommend Nani's taxi service. She is a great character. Also recommend Aitutaki Lagoon Cruises. A day on the lagoon is a must.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Pristine Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Pristine, clean, unspoilt & breathtakingly beautiful part of the world. Still somewhat raw & undsicovered. One can canoe to numerous uninhabited motus & claim gorgeous streches and indeed whole motus to one self for the day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

has to be one of the most beautiful lagoons in the world - the highlight of any visit to Aitutaki is to get out onto the lagoon

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BEAUTIFUL AND PEACEFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for four days and Rose and her team were superb. No request was a problem, the food was far superior to their sister resort The Rarotongan, and the rooms and service were excellent. The staff were lovely, always smiling and friendly and we would go back anytime we can - looking forward to our 8th trip back to Raro, and want to jump straight on a plane to Aitutaki again. Tracey, NZ

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aitutaki Lagoon also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aitutaki Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.