We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Akitua | Aitutaki Lagoon, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangor, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

There was nothing that we could fault on this fabulous holiday, could not recommend it more highly. The warm welcome upon arrival, our beach bungalow room with flowers and outdoor shower ( just great showering under blue skies or a sky full of stars ) the staff, the food, the cocktails, the views, the sunsets, the things to do. It is heaven on earth with the angels ( staff ) included. We could walk out our front door across sand and dive into the beautiful azure blue water or choose to swim in one of the two pools. The activities offered daily were fun and a newsletter was left in our room each night advising of the next days activities. You can choose to do what you like, either join in or just chill out We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We had a beach bungalow overlooking the channel, not the lagoon, but we enjoyed it because we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Kia Orana “Andrea R”,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for our Resort. We are happy to hear that you had a fabulous holiday with us.

Prior to hosting the Private Retreat of the 16 Presidents and Prime Ministers of the Pacific Islands Forum during late August - September 2012, the opportunity was taken to fully upgrade all aspects of the Resort in an initiative costing over $2 million dollars.

The Beachfront Bungalows were all upgraded to the standard of the Premium Beachfront Bungalows with location being the only difference i.e. the Premium Beachfront Bungalows directly face the "million dollar" views of the expanse of Aitutaki Lagoon whereas the Beachfront Bungalows face the Full Moon Channel with the expanse of Aitutaki Lagoon being to their left.

The Beachfront Bungalows are now the entry level accommodation for Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

We have shared your comments to our Angels, and they thank you for the beautiful comments.

I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your holiday. We certainly look forward to your return, send me an email if you require any assistance with your return visit.

Sunny Regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    138
    59
    48
    29
See reviews for
51
379
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester Springs, PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were in Aitutaki for I think our 8th time in Feb of '11 and are headed back in Jan/Feb of 2013. Much as I'd like to go evey year, It's a haul from the US east coast so every other year is perfect for us. The manager Rose really looked out for us last time. We were staying next to a bungalow that was undergoing renovation and I mentioned to another hotel manager (where we'd just had lunch) that it was a tiny bit noisy. By the time we made our way back to the resort Rose had heard of our (admitteldy slight) discomfort and we were upgraded to a bungalow down the beach, right on the lagoon! That was just above and beyond what was already an excellent stay. Island night is not to be missed either. And the beaches, the hammocks, the service - oh my! We can not wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Kia Orana “mtcspike”

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our Resort.

We are happy to hear that you will be returning to Aitutaki this year for your 9th visit. Since your last trip we are happy to announce The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa has recently completed a $2 million upgrade of our Resort in August - September 2012 which includes:

1. All bungalows were fully refurbished including re-roofing, re-painting, refurbishment of all timber works and furniture and installation of new plumbing and electrical works as required; and

2. The Beachfront Bungalows were all upgraded to the standard of the Premium Beachfront Bungalows with location being the only difference i.e. the Premium Beachfront Bungalows directly face the "million dollar" views of the expanse of Aitutaki Lagoon whereas the Beachfront Bungalows face the Full Moon Channel with the expanse of Aitutaki Lagoon being to their left. The Beachfront Bungalows are now the entry level accommodation for Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa (previously this was Garden Bungalows, which now no longer exist); and

3. The bathrooms of the Deluxe Beachfront Bungalows were trebled in size with separate large outdoor showers, toilets and installation of "his & hers" vanities; and

4. All public areas were upgraded including the Reception/Lobby, Restaurants, Beach Chapel, and Beachfront Gazebos for all day sunbathing and candlelit dining by night; and

5. Installation of WIFI accessibility in all bungalows and resort public areas; and

6. Expansion and refurbishment of the air-conditioned SpaPolynesia Aitutaki and new adjacent Gym; and

7. Re-equipment of all crockery, cutlery, glassware, linen, pillows, bedspreads etc throughout the Resort; and

8. Upgrade of the kitchens at both Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill and Bounty Brasserie; and

9. Refurbishment of the beach and the lagoon areas adjacent to Motu Akitua, the private island of the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, in conjunction with the Cook Islands Government Environment Service.

We trust that you will find the NEW LOOK resort exciting.

We can assure you that your impending return will be comfortable and relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Yours Sincerely

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Poorly managed. The only place in the cook Islands that I would not come back to. The manager "Rose Kareroa" is not friendly, rude and clearly not there to make your stay the special experience you would hope for. The beach is very nice but not good for snorkeling. The Sun sets behind the Island so just as you think you are about to get an amazing sunset it slips behind the island making you wish you were at the Pacific Resort. The restrurant is in the back of the facility with no view worth a picture. The resort does sit on its on "motu" but it is only a few meters away from Atiutaki and has a pontoon boat that only has to do a 180 turn to get you across the water way. Although it is interesting the first time you cross it becomes less than impressive and more of a nuisance after the first crossing as you are suttled back to the shabby maintance vehicle parking and refuage area where the benches are situated under a open hut. The spa is an after thought with a small service area and a treadmill machine stuffed into a small room.

Room Tip: Over the water rooms are basically half on the beach but it is nice that the balcony extend over som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Kia Orana “Thomas B”,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

I am disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns while you were in-house with us. Because of this, it is not possible now with the lapse in time to assist in any meaningful way to resolve your concerns, which is most disappointing.

In saying this, we are most concerned with the feedback you have provided through your review.

Aitutaki Lagoon offers an amazing world class tropical island experience. The Aitutaki Lagoon is full of spectacular marine life and a definite highlight of many of our guests’ stays with us is a highly recommended Lagoon Cruise which take you out to beautiful snorkeling area’s in the Lagoon.

Please view our Facebook / The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa – Cook Islands Page for some sizzling Sunset shots taken at our Resort as well as some spectacular shots of guests who have enjoyed these extraordinary moments by our Flying Beach Bar & Grill.

The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa has recently completed a $2 million upgrade of our Resort in August - September 2012 which includes:

1. All bungalows were fully refurbished including re-roofing, re-painting, refurbishment of all timber works and furniture and installation of new plumbing and electrical works as required; and

2. The Beachfront Bungalows were all upgraded to the standard of the Premium Beachfront Bungalows with location being the only difference i.e. the Premium Beachfront Bungalows directly face the "million dollar" views of the expanse of Aitutaki Lagoon whereas the Beachfront Bungalows face the Full Moon Channel with the expanse of Aitutaki Lagoon being to their left. The Beachfront Bungalows are now the entry level accommodation for Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa (previously this was Garden Bungalows, which now no longer exist); and

3. The bathrooms of the Deluxe Beachfront Bungalows were trebled in size with separate large outdoor showers, toilets and installation of "his & hers" vanities; and

4. All public areas were upgraded including the Reception/Lobby, Restaurants, Beach Chapel, and Beachfront Gazebos for all day sunbathing and candlelit dining by night; and

5. Installation of WIFI accessibility in all bungalows and resort public areas; and

6. Expansion and refurbishment of the air-conditioned SpaPolynesia Aitutaki and new adjacent Gym; and

7. Re-equipment of all crockery, cutlery, glassware, linen, pillows, bedspreads etc throughout the Resort; and

8. Upgrade of the kitchens at both Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill and Bounty Brasserie; and

9. Refurbishment of the beach and the lagoon areas adjacent to Motu Akitua, the private island of the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, in conjunction with the Cook Islands Government Environment Service.

We also have two restaurants on site with each offering a different dining experience. Our Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill is located directly on the beach overlooking the beautiful Aitutaki Lagoon. Our Bounty Brasserie is located close to reception overlooking the O’otu channel. For these reasons, I am perplexed as to your comment about the restaurants “in the back of the facility with no view worth a picture”


Kia Manuia

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Noel & I spent the second week Cook Islands at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa..thought it perfect for complete rest & relaxation..chilling out...looking at the heavenly tourquoise blue lagoon..outside our premium beachfront bungalow..no. 21..which is half way between the Overwater bungalows pure luxury...deluxe beachfront bungalows..then no. 21!
The Lovers package...bottle New Zealand Wine, His/Hers Pareu (Sarongs)...aromatherapy massage/spa/sauna..heavenly! Cocktail party Mond/Thur. to meet & greet...interesting activities. Recommend the Teking lagoon cruise...snorkelling..tropical fishes..lunch seated at a table in the lagoon, barbecue fresh tuna lunch..magical experience!

Room Tip: Bungalows on the side of the Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill..you will see the sunrise/sunset...a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia Orana Sally R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Resort.

I am happy to read that you and Noel enjoyed our Resort and had the perfect R&R, with your Premium Beachfront Bungalow afforded with its wonderful location and views of the stunning Aitutaki Lagoon and the various activities that you partook in.

We hope to welcome you back to the island for another spot of R&R.

Meitaki Atupaka e Kia Manuia

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The rating is based on value-for-money rather than absolute terms.
Positives: The resort lies on a private “motu”, or islet, a few meters by boat from the main island of Aitutaki, at its eastern tip. There is a gorgeous strip of powder-soft, blinding-white sand in front of the hotel, a unique spot on Aitutaki. The bungalows are scattered, so there is privacy, and the rooms are pleasant, though they could do with some refurbishment. They lie in a huge sandy garden with palm trees; however, the landscaping potential has not been exploited.
Negatives: Limited dinner choices due to the location. Characterless large restaurant and other communal areas. Limited breakfast. Old bathrooms which need a complete makeover. Many extra charges (bicycle rental, short airport transfer, internet). Lack of staff flexibility despite the warm welcome (over-the-top in my opinion). Hefty price tag.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia Orana “alma78”

Thank you for posting your review on your stay with us in December 2011. I am happy to announce that since your stay The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa has recently completed a $2 million upgrade of our Resort in August - September 2012 which includes:

• All bungalows were fully refurbished including re-roofing, re-painting, refurbishment of all timber works and furniture and installation of new plumbing and electrical works as required; and

• The Beachfront Bungalows were all upgraded to the standard of the Premium Beachfront Bungalows with location being the only difference i.e. the Premium Beachfront Bungalows directly face the "million dollar" views of the expanse of Aitutaki Lagoon whereas the Beachfront Bungalows face the Full Moon Channel with the expanse of Aitutaki Lagoon being to their left. The Beachfront Bungalows are now the entry level accommodation for Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa (previously this was Garden Bungalows, which now no longer exist); and

• The bathrooms of the Deluxe Beachfront Bungalows were trebled in size with separate large outdoor showers, toilets and installation of "his & hers" vanities; and

• All public areas were upgraded including the Reception/Lobby, Restaurants, Beach Chapel, and Beachfront Gazebos for all day sunbathing and candlelit dining by night; and

• Installation of WIFI accessibility in all bungalows and resort public areas; and

• Expansion and refurbishment of the air-conditioned SpaPolynesia Aitutaki and new adjacent Gym; and

• Re-equipment of all crockery, cutlery, glassware, linen, pillows, bedspreads etc throughout the Resort; and

• Upgrade of the kitchens at both Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill and Bounty Brasserie; and

• Refurbishment of the beach and the lagoon areas adjacent to Motu Akitua, the private island of the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, in conjunction with the Cook Islands Government Environment Service.

Please view our Facebook / The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa – Cook Islands Page for some stunning shots taken of our NEW LOOK Resort.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future to experience our new Resort.

Kia Manuia


Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Have just arrived back from 3 stunning nights at Aitutaki Lagoon where we stayed at this resort. Views to die for and a recently refurbished Deluxe Premium Beachfront Bungalow for accommodation made this trip to be a memorable one indeed. A spectacular location with very friendly staff who were willing to provide great customer service. The only disappointing aspect was the Food & General value for money. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Premium Beachfront bungalow which was stunning & very much appreciated, but at $700 per night, I was very pleased we were. With regards to the food, the complimentary breakfast was satisfactory, although at times the stale bread did not help the situation. Any paid meals at the restaurant were abysmal. Even if you discount the frightful price that came with these dishes, the quality, value and presentation of the food was extremely disappointing - almost embarrassing. We simply stopped eating our meals at the restaurant. I understand the difficulties surrounding food access in a remote location but some EDUCATION around Food Quality & Value for MONEY is a must if this resort wants to remain viable. The views however do make up for it, as does the wide ranging toys available from the activities hut for use in this Lagoon paradise. It was a once in a lifetime experience. Not sure if it's to be repeated. Will wait and see.

Room Tip: Deluxe Premium Beachfront Bungalows are lovely inside and plenty of room for a couple with a baby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the over-water bungalow and if you want an absolutely idyllic, beautiful, romantic holiday it's what you want to do. You walk into the room, look at the view, wander onto the balcony, look down at the fish, look at the bed, put your arms around each other, look at the view again, look back at the bed and the holiday is off to the perfect start. Simply stunning and so easy to feel in love. The outside shower was a bit confronting at first (we're both late fifties) but it's totally private and we both loved it. Something fabulous about showering in the open - and certainly not something we've done often!!! Everything else about the room was also great, just loved it. Breakfast and lunch were both fine - not great, just fine - but dinner was a major disappointment. Limited menu and none of the course were good. I had oysters and couldn't eat them!!! To be fair, the main restaurant was closed but that's not really an excuse. Aitutaki itself is just stunning - make sure you do a trip around the islands which are picture postcard perfect. Can the water really be that turquoise??? Eat elsewhere and you'll have a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: They all looked good, but the over-water bungalow here is just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Address: Motu Akitua | Aitutaki Lagoon, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island resort in the Cook Islands.It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics ~ the Overwater Bungalow.And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Lagoon Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort And Spa
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort Spa
Lagoon Resort Aitutaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.