We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Are-a-Matatui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Are-a-Matatui
Save
You added Are-a-Matatui to your Saves list
Are-a-Matatui, Aitutaki, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Antigua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Whether you see it out the window of a plane or get a first glance of it coming over the horizon, Aitutaki is text book paradise! Her beautiful lagoon and pristine beaches are spectacular, densely covered in coconut palms and endless varieties of exotic tropical fruit trees. We were lucky enough to stay with Nani at Are-a-Matatui in absolute luxury, we feasted on fresh papayas and raw tuna marinated in traditionally made coconut cream and lemon . The days were made up of diving, scooter riding, swimming, boat trips out to the fringeing islands and drinking cocktails....lots of cocktails. As a keen kitesurfer I took every oppotunity to be out at what can only be described as THE BEST FLAT WATER KITE SPOT IN THE WORLD!! Half moon island is a cresant shaped sand cay that provides glass flat water in 30knots of wind, there is a little shack with a BBQ and always an esky full of cold beers.
The best part about my stay in Aitutaki however, was knowing throughout the day that I was coming home to Are-a-Matatui for a cold drink with my legendary friends and a good chat with Nani about the days activities.....'those cheeky boys'

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent a week in Aitutaki after a few days in Rarotonga. It was amazing how much quieter and peaceful Aitutaki was in comparison. The Lagoon Cruise is a must! Are-a-Matatui was all we could hope for and more in terms of accommodation. Beautiful, peaceful, and literally next to the beach with an amazing sunset each night. With only 4 other lodges on the property, Are-a-Matatui offers far more privacy and warmth than many of the other resorts we've previously stayed in. Each bungalow is spacious with modern appliances and beautiful decorations. Nani (the host) took amazing care of us and was always able to help us book reservations for dinner, day trips, and transport. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We travelled to Aitutaki after hearing so many good things for so many years. What an amazing place to visit!
We were met at the airport then dropped at Are-a-Matatui where we were greeted by Nani. She is an amazing host.
The accommodation was fantastic and we were really made to feel at home. Nani treated us like we were her own children and always made sure we were looked after wherever we went.

I cannot recommend it highly enough. We enjoyed it so much we will be going back in July.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydneey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This place is something seriously special. We spent 6 nights at this villa and wished we could stay longer. The villas were everything we expected and fully kitted out for self-containment. We had no real complaints about the place, a part from the mosquitoes - don't forget your repellent! The shops are a good 10min bicycle away which can be annoying, but it is a very nice ride. Best to get a motorised scooter if you dont feel like riding - Mama can look after organising this for you.

Sitting on the beach, watching the sun go down feels like a dream - you must do this every day.
This place felt like our childhood holiday home that we used to visit every summer - I only wish I could come stay here every summer (and winter)! This place is paradise.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We spent a week on Aitutaki (after having spent four nights on Rarotonga) and we really could not have found a nicer place to stay than Are a-Matatui. The bungalow is very spacious and beautifully decorated, and it is situated right at the shore of Aitutakis tremendeous lagoon, offering nice snorkelling and fishing for trevally and other fish. The host is Mama, a truly beautiful person who made us feel very welcome, and who assisted with anything from providing fresh fruit to sorting out practical issues.
We just loved this place, and we count ourselves lucky to have found it. If you ever get the chance - go there!
Aitutaki - Paradise!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The villas are well constructed and nicely furnished. Beautiful outlook over well maintained gardens - the best part is the view through the trees to the ocean.

Beds comfortable and linen of good quality. Kitchen equipment ok, however no microwave bowls etc. Unfortunately, when we arrived we discovered a foul smell in the kitchen/fridge. After giving the fridge a decent clean (I thought it might have been the dried blood which had dripped from the top to the bottom of the interior wall of the fridge), the smell hadn't got any better. I persisted and ended pulling the fridge out of the cavity, thinking it was something nasty which had died behind it. Discovered a putrid condensation tray at the back of the fridge which was full of 5cms of foul water and associated scum. Removed tray and scrubbed it clean - smell gone!

Be aware that the two villas are closely positioned together. We stayed in the front villa, the master bedroom of which backed onto the deck and living area of the villa behind. If you have noisy neighbours who like to sit up on their deck until late at night drinking, or if they have small children who like to get up at 6am - you get a lot of noise into your bedroom. You can't shut the windows, because they are essential for ventilation.

Be aware that this complex no longer has any relationship with the Resort. The villas are managed by the sweet 84 year old mother of the owners. Whilst the villa was nice, I wouldn't stay there again as they are very expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

As we could not secure enough nights in Etu Moana during our stay in Aitutaki, we were advised to try this fairly new accomodation.
Located on the same premises as Aretai Villas, Are-A-Matatui are two high-end 2-bedrooms villas, perfect for a family or two couples. The accomodation has contracted with the Pacific Resort, and cleaning, etc. is made by the resort staff.

A very helpful lady, although acting as a "concierge" for both Are-A-Matatui and Aretai, is staying next door.

The setting, right on the beach, is gorgeous. The villas are fully furnished and self-contained, a very good thing as the closest grocery is roughly 15 mins away by bicycle.
Furthermore, staying at Are-A-Matatui gives access to the facilities of the Pacific Resort (inc. free bicycles).

Overall a very nice place, expensive indeed but in range of the quality of the villas.

One very little complaint, though. When we arrived, the floor was very dusty. Not the "dirty and sticky" dusty, the "nobody has come here for a few weeks" dusty. It seems that the floor was forgotten for a few days by the the Pacfic Resort staff when we came. You may want to remind this little detail when you book.

Oh, and the mosquitoes are fierce and unforgiving around here, but this can be said of all Aitutaki...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Are-a-Matatui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Are-a-Matatui

Address: Are-a-Matatui, Aitutaki, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Aitutaki
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Are-a-Matatui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.