We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh fish at reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat Shed Bar & Grill

The Boat Shed Bar & Grill
Popoara beach, Cook Islands
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We ate at the Boat Shed three times during our stay at Aitutaki, and enjoyed each meal. We had 2 dinners, and 1 lunch outside under the umbrella. The fish was fresh and well cooked, and I loved the mango sauce, and the choice of accompaniments (rice, potatoes, salad, veges, etc).

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    137
    47
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed in Aitutaki for our honeymoon for 9 nights and we ate at the boat shed nearly every day and had dinner there once only cos our dinners were included in our accomodation. We loved it there the service was unreal so friendly.The view from the deck is unbelievable We had just about everything on the menu by the time we left and it was all fantastic!!! Our favourite was the fishermans basket with real seafood not that frozen stuff and the seafood pasta was the best i have ever had!!! My husband wanted to ask for the recipe :) also the Kahlua icecream OMG it is so good!! The night we turned up for dinner they asked if we had a reservation and we didnt but we asked if we could sit outside so they bought candles out for us to see. Obviously at night they are very very busy so we just went up to the bar to order our drinks some people are too lazy and prefer to be waited on but remember everyone is on island time!! But all in all I wish I was still around the corner to drop in for lunch.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Overpriced, small servings of average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

skip this place ... You'll spend 2x what you should and leave hungry due to tiny servings.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Terrible service - don't waste your holiday waiting for your meal here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We arrived shortly after 6pm for dinner (4 pax). The place was about 50% full, and only had one waitress on. She was clearly run off her feet, and it took 25 minutes after being seated to get a drinks order taken. The owner was also there, but did nothing to help spending her time wandering from the office to the desk and back.

The shocking service continued and it took over 2 hours for us to be served a single course. The food (when it came) was nice, but I wouldn't waste my time here.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Best to make a booking, as the good tables go quickly, even in the slow season. We ordered the ika mata and the marlin fish and chips. The ika mata was good - but not the best on Aitutaki. I loved the fish and chips - very yummy and large portions.
As with everywhere, we found it's best to ask the server what they recommend, and ask that the chef prepares it the way he/she prefers. You always get the best food that way!
Delicious meals, relaxed setting, and great views.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat Shed Bar & Grill also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Boat Shed Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat Shed Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.