We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teking Lagoon Cruises

Teking Lagoon Cruises
P.O. Box 117, Cook Islands
682- 31582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Activities in Aitutaki
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Teking Lagoon Cruises are small and intimate, ensuring a more personal experience. Local guides share their knowledge of the islands, their history and the culture that is Aitutaki, Cook Islands. Several tours are available. The most popular experience is the Signature Lagoon Cruise in which you explore 75% of the lagoon - experience 3 snorkel excursions and 5 motus! We also offer the Private Motu Adventure, the Honeymoon Island Champagne Sunset Cruise, as well as a Private Teking Charter. Don't forget your cameras! For more information or for online bookings -- visit our website!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New Zealand
2 reviews
“Fantastic day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great trip, fantastic snorkelling, great skipper, highly recommend this trip, highlight of days on aitutaki.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    22
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I can only agree with all the other reviewers. We did a whole day tour with a small group and we had the privilege of Teking himself taking us out. His love of the environment of the Islands and lagoon makes it much more than just a snorkelling tour. We came away a little better educated and it really added to the whole enjoyment of the day. Teking's deadpan humour was also a highlight, and although he must have done hundreds of these trips, there is never a hint that he is getting bored with giving people a memorable experience. Lunch was awesome, really first class in a beautifully relaxed place. The snorkelling was some of the best we have done anywhere in the Pacific, swimming with Giant Trevally's is just a buzz.
All in all a massive thumbs up, Aitutaki is a beautiful place and the lagoon especially and taking a Teking cruise has to be the best way to experience about as much as you can in a day. Highly Recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't miss this tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you are visiting Aitutaki you need to do a lagoon tour to appreciate how stunning this place is. This trip was one of the highlights of our five days in Aitutaki. The tour showcases the best of the islands in the lagoon and there is plenty of snorkeling and a great lunch provided. Teking has an awesome sense of humor and provides a good overview of the history and geography of the area. I would definitely recommend this tour and would do again next time we are in Aitutaki.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A memorable day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have done two snorkelling cruises with Teking (one group and one private) and can highly recommend this company to see the world's most beautiful lagoon!
The whole outfit is organised and relaxed - but despite this you feel extremely confident that you are safe and sound.
The boys who run the tours are really passionate and knowledgeable about their home, Aitutaki, and are proud to show it off to tourists - all done with a good sense of humor and a smile.
The BBQ tuna lunch is absolutely amazing and worth the money alone, but the snorkelling is world-class and just so beautiful to see - whether you are a beginner or an expert you will see amazing fish and coral and the highlight for me - the giant clams!
Thank you Teking for two incredible days out on the Aitutaki lagoon - just breathtaking!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“TEKING LAGOON CRUISES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Teking owns and operates the Teking Lagoon Cruises and he provides, by far, the best way to explore the legendary Aitutaki Lagoon in an all day snorkelling excursion which is not to be missed .I am very happy to recommend this attraction and have enjoyed the cruise twice with my husband as we are both keen snorkellers.We were collected from our Resort about 9am and transported to the boats and were delivered back to our Resort about 4pm.Right from the start we knew we were in for something special, and Teking did not disappoint! Captain Teking and his crew of local men are very proud of their heritage and also provided a cultural tour with a touch of wit which is sure to keep you entertained throughout the day.A delicious BBQ lunch is also provided on one of the many islands you get to visit ,we enjoyed large steaks of yellow finned tuna, caught that morning, and a wide selection of local salads...your only challenge is to get through all the delicious food! We were delighted with our first cruise in 2012 where we were introduced to a 8ft long Morey Eel which we hand fed, but were overcome in 2013 when we were introduced to a "pet" Trevally that was larger than my 6ft husband who followed us around like a puppy and a huge Napoleon Wrasse who appeared out of the shadows,a gentle giant at 10ft looking for treats.The crew is very helpful and attentive and ensures a unforgetable and safe environment,Teking took great care of my husband who was recovering from a back operation and assisted him getting in and out of the boat which I appreciated very much and also joined our group in the water, happy to take picures for us at a depth inexperienced divers could not reach.Teking goes above and beyond to ensure your day is a special one and Aitutaki Lagoon is recognised as one of the great wonders of the world, it is unbelievably beautiful, no picture can do it justice..........so what are you waiting for!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teking Lagoon Cruises also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Teking Lagoon Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teking Lagoon Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.