We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day exploring the lagoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teking Lagoon Cruises

Teking Lagoon Cruises
P.O. Box 117, Cook Islands
682- 31582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Activities in Aitutaki
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Teking Lagoon Cruises are small and intimate, ensuring a more personal experience. Local guides share their knowledge of the islands, their history and the culture that is Aitutaki, Cook Islands. Several tours are available. The most popular experience is the Signature Lagoon Cruise in which you explore 75% of the lagoon - experience 3 snorkel excursions and 5 motus! We also offer the Private Motu Adventure, the Honeymoon Island Champagne Sunset Cruise, as well as a Private Teking Charter. Don't forget your cameras! For more information or for online bookings -- visit our website!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful day exploring the lagoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Captain No Good and his sidekick organized a wonderful trip in one of the most beautiful lagoons on earth. We spent an entire day in the glazing sun cruising the lagoon. The snorkelling was amazing, the BBQ delicious and the time spent on honeymoon island heavenly. We had the luck to share the experience with Rob and Renee from Wellington. I hope you guys had a nice wedding. Take a lot of sunblock with you since the sun can be really hot. Beer can be bought at a fair price, be sure you have one after the snorkelling! If you have a good sence of humour, go with Teking!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    22
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pros and cons of using Teking cruises.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The lagoon is just mind blowing and can be explored with several tour companies.
I did one tour with Teking and then one tour with Te Vaka.

Positives for Teking are: great bbq on an island, better snorkelling spots, smaller/faster boat.
Negatives for Teking are: the staff is not very nice, a bit blasé, and Te Vaka staff was much friendlier and funnier. Less time spent on One foot island.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic day on lagoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This lagoon cruise was recommended to us by fellow travellers who had just done this trip, they said don't look at any others. This lagoon trip was just fabulous, had a wonderful lunch on island,could buy refreshments, very relaxed day out. Snorkelling was great. Don't forget to put sunblock on backs of legs. Still as beautiful as our first trip there 3 years ago. These people really care about their environment.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pirates of the South Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I miss these guys as much as the Beautiful Aitutaki Lagoon.

Teking, Captain No Good and the crew were the best of the best to take my mum, sister and I out for a tour of their wonderful piece of paradise.

Dont go anywhere else for a tour, even our hotel recommended them over the other crews on the island. They know their lagoon and the history of their island.

One of the mamas in her traditional flower hair garland picked us up in their "island tour truck" (much better than a stuffy air conditioned mini van) from our accommodation and instantly I knew we had chosen the right crew. Once you meet the crew, get your snorkel gear, you are off to sail the best lagoon in the world.

So many islands you visit, you will wish you could stay forever...(you can too, if you want they offer an overnight stay on one of the islands)

Lunch was superb, too much food they kept trying to feed us up we even had time to play a game of hermit crab racing as well.

A charming bunch of lads with a flare to make the ladies blush and the fellas get mucho.

They were so good to my mum, sister and I, they treated us like family.

Cannot wait to catch up with them when I come back to Aitutaki and next time I am back Teking, I will bring a whole boat load of my family and friends.

Until next time, meitaki maata e kia manuia

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Aitutaki lagoon is a large place and it takes some ingenuity to do it justice in just one day but somehow Teking accomplishes this without making the experience feel rushed or 'on the clock'. You are picked up at your resort (9 - 9:30ish), transported to the boats, given a brief run down on what to expect (and how to behave - 'ladies first!'), pick out gear if you need it, pay up if you haven't already (cash only please), and then you are off. Within minutes you are dropping into the lagoon and are immediately surrounded by fish and live coral. Bring an underwater camera! After about an hour you are driven a short distance to a sand spit where you disembark for a walk toward Honeymoon Island where you are met by the boats and transported a short distance to Maina where a delicious lunch awaits (beer and wine for an extra charge). Then its off to snorkel with the giant clams for another hour or so. A short ride later, Moturakau awaits where you get a short lesson from Teking on local legends and plant lore with time for photography. A 20 minute ride further on puts you at One Foot Island where you can explore or snorkel. Somewhere in there, there is usually a third snorkel stop. Then you drive by a few more motus and then its back to the main island arriving somewhere between 4 and 5PM. A full day.
Bring plenty of sunscreen (and a hat), and a rash guard is a good idea if you tend to get cold. If you are staying on Aitutaki for a longer time ,as we did, and if you go with Teking a second time, he will let you out of the boat at different spots than the main group making the experience fresh again.

Overall, very well done and excellent value for your tourist dollar. A MUST DO in my opinion!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teking Lagoon Cruises also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Teking Lagoon Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teking Lagoon Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.