We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amuri Sands, Aitutaki to your Saves list
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki
Main Rd, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We loved Amuri Sands very much. After arriving at the airport Mark picked us up and brought us to his beachhut. Mark was very helpfull in explaining everything and arranging the scooter hire. Aitutaki is a small island and can best be explored on the scooter.

We also liked eating at puffy's, with good fish and chips. We also did a lagooncruise with Teking which brought us to the small paradise islands in the lagoon around Aitutaki.

Friends of us stayed in Matriki Beach hut. Compared to this accomodation Amuri Sands is more comfortable with more privacy.

It's very nice to walk into the lagoon and start snorkelling in front of the beach hut. Here you can see some beautifull fishes, coral and clams.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
62
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Isa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I booked Amuri Sands for 2 of my friends whilst we stayed next door I was very imprest with this place its clean and tidy and looks very new it has all little things you need and is well looked after Mark is very helpfull and keeps the place looking amazing its very private and on the beach great value for money

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Avoca NSW
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Thanks again Mark for the great hospitality. This is our second trip back to Amuri Sands and not the last. We love the privacy of the cabins and have everything we need in them. The snokelling out in front is great, and if you get a chance to go out on a day trip with Teking the experience is unforgettable. Mark is a fantastic host keeping us updated with the weather etc..It's great to see new places to eat like KU KU the best vegie burgers and so fresh, keep up the good work girls!!!!!!! We stayed 2 weeks this time and still not long enough, total relaxation..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I stayed at the Amuri Sands chalet on Amuri beach. From the moment we got off the plane we were welcomed. The host was very friendly and went beyond what we expected. He gave us friendly information about the island and advised us to go on a cruise. The cruise was amazing and we are so happy that we went on it.
The location of the chalet was directly on the beach, so when we stepped out, our feet were in the sand. In the evening we would have dinner on the balcony with the view of the lagoon, coconut tree's and the sound of the water.
I can truly recommend this place to stay. It was close to town whilst still providing the privacy and quiet holiday we wished for.
The chalet was very clean and well equipped for cooking and at a very reasonable price.
We felt that we got a 5 star service for a budget price.

We would definitely return again to Amuri Sands and bypass the larger commercial or popular places.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I stayed here for two weeks with my partner. We had such a relaxing stay. Everything was perfect! Great service and great location. The island is small so you are always close to everything. It takes about 15-20 minutes to drive the whole island. I would recommend hiring a scooter and exploring. This place is in between the airport and town and RIGHT on the beach. Beautiful views every morning and lots of privacy. Just two bungalows next to each other, so very peaceful. Great kitchen with stove and fridge and everything you need to cook your own meals. Also lots of great places to eat out too. Nice big deck to sit out on and enjoy watching the whales. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed at Amuri Sands for 7 nights and it was fantastic. Mark, the owner, is very helpful without being intrusive. He would do anything for us in the way of bookings, helping us etc. He picked us up at the airport and dropped us off, organised snorkelling trips, scooters and any other activities ,like diving, you wanted to do. The accommodation I would call " simple" rather than "basic" but for us was beautifuuly clean and lacked nothing. There is a double bed, table and chairs, kitchenette with everything you need to cook, a verandah to eat breakfast and soak up the sights, complete with table and chairs. The beach was like your own, with great snorkelling- day and night! Mark lent me reef shoes as I'd forgotten my own. If you are visiting in the next 6 months you might want to bring fruit from Raro if you'd like bananas and pawpaw/papaya as the island has not yet recovered from the cyclone to produce these fruits. The local shops had everything you need to cook simple meals plus I'd recommend Puffy's for fish , chips and sala, and Tamanu for an excellent "Island Night".
With a scooter, Samade and the restaurants on the other side are easily accessible.
We managed to buy starfruit and coconut cakes from Tuano's plus some locally grown vegs available at small shops.
Highly recommend Aitutaki and Amuri Sands-plus spend longer there than Raro if you like the quiet life. We will definitely go back and stay at Amuri Sands.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

The location is brilliant, right on the beach. Such lovely views from the balcony. Sunsets were amazing. The snorkelling was great. The accommodation is basic, a small kitchenette, bed and bathroom and no tv. Although it was actually good not to have a tv. The floor of the place was a little dirty, however, the rest of the place was pretty clean. The host Mark was great he picked up and dropped us off at the airport. He also organised a tour and scooter and gave us a lot of advice, which was very helpful. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Address: Main Rd, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia Orana, and welcome to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki. We are a family-run business with 2 chalets on the beachfront on the west coast of Aitutaki, Cook Islands. We provide budget accommodation for your self-catering needs and are positioned near dining outlets and shops. The beach we are positioned on has some of the best snorkeling on the island. We look forward to you staying with us. Kia Manuia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Amuri Sands, Aitutaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.