We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, great value in Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amuri Sands, Aitutaki to your Saves list
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki
Main Rd, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great spot, great value in Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at Amuri Sands for 3 nights in July 2011

Amuri Sands is a neat little building, build 2 or 3 years ago, split into two one bedrommed self contained units. They've got everything you'll need, small kitchen, fridge, stove etc. The bed is comfortable, there is a good shower with plenty of hot water, and a couple of fans. it's simple and basic, but clean and comfortable.

Its pretty much on the beach... There's a nice deck overlooking a few coconut trees which is all that separates you from the beach, which is fantastic. The water is warm, and the snorkelling is wonderful. Right on your doorstep you'll see plenty of colourful and varied fish.

Mark is an excellent host. He lent us masks and snorkels, and is happy to provide advice on where to go and what to do! He seems genuinely interested in making sure you have a good and relaxing time. As a lovely bonus, on 2 mornings he left fresh bananas and papaya on our doorstep for breakfast.

Amuri Sands has a great location. It's next to Etu Moana, and just down the beach from Taumanu Beach Resort, and from the Pacific Resort.

We'd totally recommend Aumri Sands as a comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay.

We recommend getting a scooter while you are on Aitutaki. There is a rental place down the road from Amuri Sands called Rinos, who rent scooters for $20 a day. They'll even deliver them to Amuri Sands.

There are a few basic stores in Aitutaki, so you can buy basic supplies, beers, soft drinks, ice cream etc. Expect to pay a premium tho, but not crazy expensive. One thing though... Aitutaki is a very religious island, so very little is open on Sunday's other than the resorts.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
62
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We spent 10 days at Amuri Sands. The units are right on the beach, with the best snorkeling in Aitutaki. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. They are reasonably priced and a very good deal, given how incredibly expensive everything is in Aitutaki. There is a small kitchen area with refrigerator and cooktop. Storage space is minimal. Each room has two fans. The only telephone is in the office, which is inconvenient at times, but the owner, Mark, is on site at least once a day and is happy to give recommendations and make arrangements.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Travelled to Aitutaki for 7 nights with my partner, the island itself is the closest thing to paradise. Mark was away so Poppy looked after us, she made our stay that much better, helping us get groceries when we first arrived and providing us with an extra snorkel as we only had one. It was these and many other little things that really made it great. Amuri Sands is located on the perfect beach for relaxing and snorkelling. The accomodation is very good and much cheaper than the nearby resorts. We will definitely be go back to Aitutaki one day, and would definitely stay at Amuri Sands again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Very often we are thinking on our "Amuri Sands". It is a excellent place for a perfect holiday! The best place in the south pacific! Marc was really helpful and very friendly. The only thing is: it is to far away from europe.
It was clean, no bugs! The price is is also perfekt!!
Thank you for this nice place!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed here in January for 5 days. The bungalow was basic, but very clean and you have a small kitchen and bathroom. You have all the facilities you need. The view from the balcony over the beach an the blue lagoon is stunning! This is really paradise. Mark, the owner is very friendly, he picked us up from the airport and can help you with renting a motorbike etc. We were really sad when we had to leave. Rarotonga is nice but Aitutaki is even better, this is the closest you can get to paradise!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Recently stayed at Amuri Sands the place was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Mark was a wonderful host and the location is beautiful with great snorkeling right off your front deck. If I had one suggestion he could refresh your towels more often, After talking with him upon our departure he said it won't have been a problem just ask. You can spent alot of money elsewhere and not get much more. Great value, no frills

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011 via mobile

If you can sacrifice accomodation luxury (lacking) for location and value, stay here. The place is no Etu Moana, lacking A/C and high end finishes, but as long as it's not hot summer (January) you can't beat it. Etu is right next door and the beach is the same. Mark the owner is conscientious, out clearing rocks daily. I would recommend he find some cheap labor for housekeeping (none now), even if he has to raise price a bit.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Address: Main Rd, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia Orana, and welcome to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki. We are a family-run business with 2 chalets on the beachfront on the west coast of Aitutaki, Cook Islands. We provide budget accommodation for your self-catering needs and are positioned near dining outlets and shops. The beach we are positioned on has some of the best snorkeling on the island. We look forward to you staying with us. Kia Manuia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Amuri Sands, Aitutaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.