We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond PERFECTION!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beyond PERFECTION!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Polynesian Paradise

From the moment Le Taha’a Resort came into view from the boat, I knew that we’d made a choice that exceeded our wildest dreams. The incredible beauty of the small island and magnificent, truly Polynesian resort is indescribable, and that is just the beginning. The entire staff is so lovely and kind, and Julian, the manager, is off the charts in the “wonderful” category. He makes every single person feel like they are his most important guest, and is a genuinely great guy!

There is nothing that can describe the beauty of watching the sunset over Bora Bora, and then taking in the sunrise over the mountains the next morning. The kayaking is so relaxing, the infinity pool refreshing, the food delicious, and the snorkeling is the best we’ve ever seen. Le Taha’a is adjacent to a gorgeous coral reef, and we saw every fish we could possible imagine. Each lazy and fabulously relaxing day was better than the next, and they were all completely PERFECT!

If you want a memory that will last a lifetime, do yourself a giant favor and visit Le Taha’a. For a honeymoon, special anniversary, or just to get away from it all and spend a few days in utter paradise, you cannot beat this wonderful resort! We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Every over-water bungalow is completely perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    119
    46
    28
    19
See reviews for
76
622
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We spent the first week of our honeymoon in a fantastic bungalow at Le Taha'a. After traveling 21 hours door to door from NYC (3 flights and 1 boat ride) we were welcomed with fresh flower leis and stunning views. The long trip was well worth it to spend a week indulging in ultimate relaxation, it was the perfect way to reward ourselves from stressful wedding planning. We were lucky to get a bungalow at the end of the pier facing the Bora Bora mountain, from our deck you could only see water and the scenic mountain, we were literally alone in paradise. The resort is small, which means the staff gets to know you and personalize your visit. The grounds of the resort were fabulous, although we tended to spend most of our time on our private deck. The food was excellent; indulge in the fabulous breakfast, enjoy a light lunch poolside, for dinner there is the main dining room or the more exclusive Ohiri restaurant. We splurged on the Ohiri twice during our stay and it was the highlight of our dining, the tasting menus were exquisite and the French wine selection was top notch. I hope to one day return to this small island paradise, once you have stayed there you will want to return again and again!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the end of the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We arrived in FP at the beginning of a monsoon that shook the foundation of our bungalow. (It was rainy season...) Despite the cloud cover for our 3 days in Taha'a, we loved the resort. There isn't as much to do as our final stop in Bora Bora but that was what we were looking for. The staff was fantastic & the room exceeded our expectations. The lagoon was only waist high so we were able to socialize with our neighbors without spilling our drinks (& at the cost of island alcohol, this isn't trivial!) The breakfast buffet was exceptional. We found the appetizers at lunch and dinner to be a better bet than the entrees. We don't eat a lot so this worked in our favor. Snorkeling in their coral garden was fun albeit challenging due to the storm surge. I think I would have gone buggy there for more than 3 days but it was a great way to shake the stress of the trip and get ready for a more active resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! The decks are huge and private in most of the outer bungalows. If you can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We traveled from NYC to French Polynesia for our honeymoon. We finished our two week vacation in Tahaa and it was the perfect ending to our honeymoon. Private, luxurious and accommodating would be the best adjectives to describe our time at Le Taha'a.

The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The service was to the level we have experiences in five star resorts throughout the US and Europe.

My highest recommendation!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The resort and the service were excellent. Spacious rooms over the lagoon are just amazing. Food was very good, although it was overpriced (which was to be expected.)
The downside...we were there on New Years Eve, and though dinner was an astronomical expense, it was the ONLY option that night. Had we decided to NOT eat, we still would've been charged for it. Kinda had a problem with that, but overall, very pleased.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here beginning December for three nights. And the "wow factor" started as soon as they picked us up from the airport. The boat ride to the resort feels like a ride to paradise. What a beautiful resort! The water, in every shade of blue and turquoise, waist deep, nice temperature. The peacefulness (we stayed during low season), the friendly staff, everything just amazing.
We stayed in an overwater bungalow and were upgraded to a bungalow almost at the end.
There may not be a lot to do, but we found it very relaxing. We snorkeled, kayaked and did a trip to Le Taha'a. All in all a very good start of our French Polynesian holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in overwater bungalow #39, which was close to the sunset side. It's much more beautiful than our water bungalow in Moorea. Not even a comparison. The staff who greeted us were very helpful and very friendly. The manager Jean Michelle had amazing hospitality talent... as he always greeted us at breakfast, saw us throughout the day asking how things were, and made sure we had a fun night!
We arrived here after spending 5 nights in Moorea... spent 6 nights at Le Taha'a and spent New Year's Eve there. It's a very quiet island, so not many people stayed out past 10pm, which was very odd since it was NYE. They had a beautiful firework display off their beach and it was more than we anticipated. Champagne was flowing from the staff and we had an amazing night!
The gym was always clean and decorated with fresh flowers every morning, which we definitely noticed. The water surrounding the island was breathtakingly blue! The grounds were kept absolutely perfect and the team were very nice when we passed by them.
There were a lot more children and families there in the pool than we were expecting though, which is nothing bad to say about the hotel, it's just not so "adult" friendly as we thought it was going to be. We figured there would be more couples there since it looked so romantic online... not the case. We took Dave's tour on the main island to take us to the vanilla fields... Dave is absolutely wonderful and we would recommend him to everyone. We also did the lagoon excursion and swam with reef sharks and sting rays... I recommend this trip to anyone who is planning on going to tahiti in general. Very exciting and bless our captain who I just loved, I can't remember his name... but he played the ukelele driving us around on the boat and he was just the happiest guy in the world.
I see that people are griping over the food... it's true, there isn't much to choose from. First night we did the beach buffet bar b q. Not a fan of buffet style like this anyway, so it was just ok as we were getting eating alive by mosquitos... flies do attack food often there too, so buffet is just not really our cup of tea. We did try the Vanilla restaurant and it was much better. Risotto and parrot fish were pretty good. Food is VERY expensive in tahiti, so plan on spending a lot of money. We also did the fine dining restaurant that only took 4 tables per night. Very overpriced... but delicious. I'm sure getting ingredients is much harder over there, so that's probably their argument. My husband and I live in LA, so we are use to gourmet meals, spending money on fine dining... so that field was a little disappointing to us because of all the prices. Breakfast was our highlight every morning. The staff who took care of us every morning were so nice to be around.
The priciest thing at the resort besides the food was the usage of wave runner/jet skies. It was actually embarrassingly overpriced. We had no idea how much it would be, we just kind of signed up for it as we saw them bobbing in the water by the pool. Turns out it was $250 + for the hour! We didn't even get our own, we did tandem and had an instructor take us to guided areas. I couldn't believe the bill when we checked out. Drinks were very pricey and didn't have a ton of alcohol... so we recommend getting alcohol at the market on the main island when you get there and then drinking in your bungalow throughout the day to avoid copious amounts of fancy pool drinking. The bartender at the pool seemed like it was a nuisance for her to be there.. we would be scared ordering drinks AND food for her. It all seemed so much for her to do both and would get frazzled at our requests. She needs to be reassigned pronto because she just looks miserable. Not just one day... but every day we were there. Other couples (3 of them) have all said the same thing as well. Maybe she had a bad week... someone else on these reviews said she was nice... I can't even imagine, so you never know.. everyone else was so pleasant it was kind of annoying to be around someone so sour...
Internet is nearly non-existent, unless you logged on in the lobby. It took us about 20 min to log on from our room, which took up so much vacation time... better to just not let that frustrate you... and just plan to do all emails in morning in lobby after breakfast or something. Our 5 hours were killed off in 2 days because logging off, you need reception as well and sometimes we just wouldn't be able to log off until we made that 6 min walk to the lobby. I do like that it forces yourself to be disconnected the the real world... I'm just forewarning.
But overall this place is magical and we would love to come back maybe on our way next time to Bora Bora. I would come back just to say hello to Jean Michelle and stay a couple nights in overwater bungalow. Definitely bring your water socks... the last day I was there I jumped off our deck without them and gashed my foot on some coral, which made for miserable trip home.
Thank you to Le Taha'a for making our honeymoon so very special and memorable. It will hold a special place in our hearts forever.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to pool and snorkeling... ask for a room in the lower digits... the higher y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.