We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treehouse, gardens, and bluest water ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Treehouse, gardens, and bluest water ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

From our arrival at the very clearly polynesian reception center, we knew we were in a secluded environment of beauty. The paths and flower gardens are everywhere, and the restaurants are up in a treehouse! This was our last stop in French Polynesia and a perfect place to unwind and "bookend" our trip. We visited a vanilla plantation and pearl farm, and found this to be a very interesting tour. See if you can book with Teva (our concierge, Maierie took care of this for us). Also, we had dinner at Chez Louise one night--authenic and served at her home! We did find the service lacking in some areas: we called for items for the mini-fridge that we were told would be delivered in 30 minutes (actual, 1 1/2 hours); we were told that an anniversary cake would be delivered to our unit at 4 p.m. (actual, 5:20 p.m.), and our itinerary indicated that the chef's treat of the day would be delivered to us each afternoon. That never happened in our four-day stay. We had wanted to relax in a beautiful quiet place, and that is what we had.

Room Tip: We wanted to conclude our trip with a sunset overwater villa. We were out at the end in #42 and wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    112
    45
    28
    18
See reviews for
66
576
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What can I say that has not been said already by other travellers? This is one of the nicest resorts that we have stayed at. From the moment we arrived to the island, we have been treated with nothing but the best service. We were met at the dock and taken to the reception area where we had a juice and a refreshing towel. From there we were taken to our over water bungalow. The bungalows are very spacious with modern amenities and beautiful bathrooms. There is attention to detail everywhere throughout the bungalow, nice wood accents and carvings around the walls, a king side bed that has a glass enclosure at the foot of the bed that opened up so that you could feed the fish which swam under the bungalow. Bathroom was spacious with his and her sinks a tub and a shower. Our bungalow faced the sunset which we watched every night around 6PM, what a show. We swam in the lagoon right off our deck, the water is quite shallow and very warm. The weather was great with few showers that did not last more then 10 minutes.
The breakfast was buffet in the main restaurant and it had everything that you could ask for. Lots of fruit and juices and brads and pastries. Eggs any style were made to order and brought to your table. Service was great. For dinner we ate one night at the main restaurant, the presentation and quality of food was like at a gourmet restaurant. On another night we has a barbeque buffet by the pool, there there was a choice of meet and fish along with salad and desert bar. For the third night there was a buffet with a show which we did not go to and instead we ordered room service and ate on our deck under the stars.
We found the food to be quite expensive at all of the resorts around the French Polynesia and here it was no exception.
The property is immaculate with beautiful trees and lovely walkways. The coral garden is the most beautiful that I have ever seen with live corals and many species of fish. Snorkelling was a lot of fun.
Since our check out was at 11AM and our boat to our next flight was not until 3:30, the hotel gave us a day room to use for a few ours free of charge. This was a very nice touch.
Overall we had a great time at this resort and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Sunset view over water bungalow is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was there on acouples vacation. Overall it was a nice experience, although the high price did not seem to be worth it. In addition to the very expensive nightly rate, you will pay $20+ for a most basic salad, for example.

There is nothing in the fridge in the rooms except two bottles of water. For a very high price, you can ask them to bring you sodas and other drinks for your room, but there are no snacks to buy either in the room or anywhere else. And on an island with no store, you can't just walk off-property to buy some snacks. The one store on property sells traditional clothing and hats, but if you are looking for sun screen (other than one bottle of 40 SPF), drinks, or any other snacks or sundries, you are out of luck.

While on the topic of food...each night during the turndown service, they place a little card on the bed with a legend from the islands. Why not also put a couple of chocolates on the bed like other high-end resorts, expecially since there is no way to get any kind of chocolate treat on the entire island?

The "spa" has a couple of treatment rooms that you reach by walking outside (unpleasant when it is raining) and the treatments are the most expensive I have ever seen in my decades of high-end leisure travels.

The gym is nice, but at least a couple of the machines don't work and the one blue mat is so old and has so many holes in it that it feels like a safety hazard to use it. I would expect a resort of this level to have their fitness center in better shape.

Service in the restaurants is very, very slow. Since we are all there on vacation, we don't exactly need to rush our way through a meal. But on many, many occasions it was uncomfortably slow even for laid-back vacationers!

I am not saying that this is a bad resort. It is very lovely and we had a very nice time there. But with all of the other raving reviews about this place, it is important to also understand its shortcomings and to know what to expect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Before our 11 night cruise on Paul Gauguin, we spent one marvellous week from August 24 to September 1st 2012 in this intimate and secluded gateway located on one of the most beautiful motus surrounding the island of Taha’a. The setting is magical and the service is outstanding. Private, tranquil and serene are words to describe this little gem in French Polynesia.

Flights

We flew with Delta Airlines from Quebec through Detroit (2 hours) and then to Los Angeles (5 hours) and took Air Tahiti Nui to Papeete (8 hours and a half). At the airport we were welcomed by Tahiti Nui Travel to get our vouchers. We took a short flight from Papeete to Raietea through Huahine (1 hour). It is a very long trip but worthwhile.

Resort

Upon arrival in Raietea, we went to the Taha’a Island stand and were directed to the comfortable resort boat for a 30 minute ride. On the pier, we were welcomed with music, flowers crown and necklace and fruit juice (it was 9:30 am). The women at the reception filled up the forms and accompanied us to visit the resort and the bungalow. The check-in was fast.

The islet is beautiful and lushed with nature vegetation. The grounds are immaculate and well maintained : flowers and trees everywhere. The hotel was built in 2002 with natural woods and bamboo. Attention to details with the grounds, rooms and architecture is incredible. A pathway connects the bungalows and the main building where are the reception, the shop and the restaurants. Property is very Polynesian and a true tropical paradise.

We had the Bora Bora Overwater Bungalow # 6. The bungalow was exceptionally clean and spacious, with a king sized bed, two sinks, a bathtub, a separate shower and luxury toiletries. There are plenty of storage to put our things. Snorkel equipement are available in the room. We could see the fishes under the bungalow through a window table. There are large windows with spectacular view and a sliding door giving on a large private deck : a covered area with two chairs, a small picnic table and benches and in the sun two loungers. We had a incredible view of the island of Bora Bora and could admire the beautiful sunsets. The patio was a great place just to relax and watch the georgeous water. A few stairs led to a lower deck with an outdoor shower and a ladder to enter the lagoon. The maid service was regular and included a turn-down service every evening to give us fresh beach towels and two bottles of water.

Swimming and snorkelling

The lagoon is crystal clear, warm (25 degrees C) and with little currents and waves. The water is 3 or 4 feet deep. To access the coral garden, we had to go to the pool section, cross the lagoon to the other motu and walk along the motu to the barrier reef. We had to use reef shoes (available at the pool). There is a natural canal through the corals and the current bring us back to the middle of the lagoon. However, we could not swim over the corals because the water is very shallow. The corals are completely preserved and beautiful. There are a lot of colorful fishes. We saw a big green moral eel disturbed by our passage. It is a maze of beauty under the water. A few boats came to the motu for excursions in the morning, but it was generally very quiet. Around the bungalows, we saw many rays.

Weather

The temperature was high (25 degrees C) with humidity and a constant breeze with sometimes strong winds. We had one day with clouds and rain showers. There were no mosquitoes.

Island

The island is mountainous and lushed. We took the Taha’a island tour for half a day that brought us to visit a Vanilla farm, a Pearl farm and panoramic view points on the island and the lagoon.

Restaurants

Our reservation included breakfast and dinner. We ate all our meals at the Vanille Restaurant and we felt like in a tree house. The quality and variety of the food were excellent. The menu for dinner was the same but there are many options so we could take different dishes every night. The beef tournedos, the foie gras frais with vanilla and the melting chocolate cake were memorable. We ordered a bottle of water and a bottle of wine from a good selection and once in a while expressos. Breakfast was the food highlight. We could order omelet or fried eggs and eat from the buffet a large variety of fruits (pineapple, kiwis, grapes, bananas, grapefruit, orange, dried plums and dates, etc.), different kind of fresh juices (orange, pineapple, apple, etc.), pastries, croissants, cookies and breads, yogourt, french cheeses and cereals. Everything was delicious.

Service

All the staff was customer oriented and friendly and the service was very fast everywhere. Everyone was so nice and helpful. A special mention should be given to Claude, the director of the restaurants, who was very careful to our needs.

Entertainment

Each tuesday, there is a buffet for dinner and a small show of Tahitian music, dance and fire and a fashion show (pareos and pearls). For a buffet, everything tasted fresh and flavorful.

Overall

We liked very much our relaxing and romanctic stay at the Taha’a Island Resort. We highly recommend to everybody this resort for a unique, laid-back and hidden paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

One of the best places in the world to rest. Amazing the overwater bungalows. The service will make your stay unforgetable!! We had a wonderfull stay and very relaxing. Don't forget to book a dinner at the motu (private island) very romantic... unique experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Our wonderful travel agent Jennifer from Pacific Travel for Less recommended part of our trip on this somewhat unknown island when we wanted to go to Bora Bora and we are SO glad we did!!! We were unsure about coming here because we wanted to maximize our time in Bora Bora but starting on this incredibly beautiful and romantic island was a fantastic suggestion. It is small with not much to do but enjoy the surrounding beauty and RELAX! It has a more rustic and authentic feel which we loved especially after 28 hrs of travel. You have to go to Chez Louise on the main island and get an authentic Polynesian seafood feast!! The owner/ chef is an older Polynesian lady that is a hoot!! Good food for half the cost of the resort and she is very entertaining. Her daughter works the front desk at the resort and her name is Louise so they can put the bill on your room which was convenient. There is some great snorkeling around the coral near the beach. Resort is small and is an easy walk everywhere. Go check out the gorgeous sunset around 5:45 this time of year. So thankful Pacific Travels for Less recommended this little piece of paradise! They did fantastic with all the reservations which made our travels to French Polynesia so easy! We travel all the time and have not used a travel agency in years but so glad we did for this trip!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amory, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just stayed 7 days here earlier this month. also spent 5 days on a Moorings catamaran. In reviewing this Resort i quess one has to determine what you are looking for in a trip or vacation. This place is very secluded very quiet very "polished" in every way. I highly recommend it for service , cleanliness, seclusion for quiet romantic days semi-formal dining , reading your favorite books and walking thru incredible grounds with incredible views. I certainly would not recommend it for kids or young adults or anyone looking for a "Sandals" type adventure. Snorkeling is great on site and is a big plus. I cannot compare it to the other Bungalows in French polynesia having not stayed in others. I found the staff very friendly and helpful in every way.

Room Tip: Bungalows over water are free from mosquitoes that can be a problem on beach front rooms and i recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.