We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven is a Place on earth.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vahine Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vahine Island Resort to your Saves list
Vahine Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Private Island | Tahaa Lagoon, 98733, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Seregno, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Heaven is a Place on earth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Exactly what we expected from Polynesìa.
Hospitality, accomodations, activities, everithing was perfect.
There are only 9 bungalows on this Island and you can swim between manta raes, sharks, and see a lot of different fishes 5steps from your bungalow.
The beach boy si very friendly and the chef is great, very nice dinners.
Great massages at sunset and reasonable price.
The best Place I've ever been.
Congratulations to the young couple, managers of this resort.

Room Tip: 1st beach bungalow is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Ia orana and thank you very much for your kind message and contribution to our page. We are glad you had great time with us. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    29
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
322
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Vahine Island lived up to, and in fact exceeded my admittedly high expectations! We chose to begin our 2-week honeymoon on Vahine Island as we were looking for a secluded, private and quiet place to escape from the craziness of wedding planning, life, work, etc. Our second leg was St. Regis Bora Bora so we didn't want another big mega-resort like Le Taha'a, we wanted a place to relax, be ourselves and have a one of a kind experience. In terms of perspective, we are well travelled, in our early 40's and appreciate high-end luxury, service, and food.

After travelling almost 26 hours to get there, arriving by boat felt like the 70’s TV show, Fantasy Island, with Terrence waiting to welcome us, and his wonderfully genuine staff ready to assist us in enjoying our every moment! The island has 3 overwater bungalows and 6 beach bungalows/suites, which means there is never a crowd. Several of our 5 nights there we were one of only 2 couples on the entire island, and the max we saw were 4 couples total. It was a truly private and secluded experience.

Our overwater bungalow was the farthest one out on the pier, and was covered in fresh hibiscus flowers and champagne when we arrived. It was beautifully and authentically decorated, including a glass coffee table, which opened to allow feeding of the fish and sharks at night (i.e.; Tahitian TV). We never used the AC, as there was always at least a nice breeze which came in through the many windows and doors. We didn’t close the doors/windows the entire time we were there. The deck was so large, with areas of shade and sun and of course the requisite ladder down to that water so that you could swim right from your bungalow. The views of neighboring Taha’a and Bora Bora in the distance were amazing, magical and worthy of many many moments of quiet contemplation.

As others have mentioned, Vahine is managed by Terence, who is a skilled French chef, and his partner Laure. This goes a LONG way in the enjoyment of the experience at Vahine. For 6 blissful days, we were completely at the hands of Terence and his extremely lovely and capable staff...not having to decide what to order for dinner was a treat (a menu is displayed at breakfast in case you have any objections to that night's selections). We were happy to let the Chef decide and were never disappointed. Virgilia was so sweet in helping us to learn some Tahitian phrases, and Moea remembered us each morning. I believe I took a picture of almost every single 3-course dinner plus amuse bouche, which is admittedly over the top, but the quality of the food deemed it necessary. Every bite was creatively and perfectly prepared and presented beautifully and typically with a fresh tiare flower. Keep in mind, the setting is remote, literally a tiny island in the middle of the South Pacific without a significant mainland facility...everything is brought in via barges or boats, its that remote.

Our special honeymoon dinner was fit for a King and Queen. Lavishly decorated wicker seats and table, complete with champagne and even sparklers. We felt truly special and pampered.

While the food is a surely highlight, the atmosphere, setting and service are equally impressive. This is a place to disconnect from the “real” world and reconnect with yourself and the one you love. The culture of being “busy” does not exist on Vahine Island. It is all about slowing down, taking time to appreciate and enjoy Mother Nature and her wonderfully amazing gifts, and for simple pleasures.

There are activities scheduled with the wonderfully patient, knowledgeable and kind beach boy, Roi and the staff will help to organize any one of a number of excursions. While we were there, we went snorkeling on the coral reef with Roi, took a guided Jeep tour on the island of Taha’a, took a kayak to the neighboring (deserted) motu, and took their 5HP boat, complete with gourmet picnic to a peaceful sand bar about 6 motu’s away, far removed from any signs of civilization. All were well arranged and coordinated, all we had to do was tell Terrence our wishes and he, or Landre, arranged all of the details (even the days for each activity!).

Some of the evening activities included watching the staff come back from evening fishing and display their catch on the pier, watching the reef sharks congregate at the end of the pier waiting to be fed, and the aforementioned Tahitian TV. Oh, yeah, and sampling some of Terrence’s homemade infused rums – try the Coconut!!

For a honeymoon, our experience at Vahine was absolutely perfect in every way. We can offer no constructive feedback to make the experience better (aside from encouraging smoking guests to be more mindful of how their smoking might be interfering with other’s meals). Vahine is not the “typical American honeymoon” choice, and we are SO grateful that we took this road less travelled and were able to experience all that Vahine has to offer. It was truly a special experience, one which we will never forget…and which we will be certain to repeat!

Room Tip: OWB are very private, ask for the farthest one out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest "Jodi W"
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on our page and for this very nice description of our island and team. We are really glad you and such a great experience with us and we hope to see you back soon at Vahine island.
Terence and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longIsland NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I am beyond happy I somehow read about this place in my lengthy research that occurred while planning our 10th anniversary. We also visited Moorea & Bora Bora and most couples we spoke to unfortunately (for them!) hadn't heard of vahine. As a side note our honeymoon 10 yrs ago was
a disaster as I was bitten by a centipede in Maui - hospital, IV antibiotics etc... so this was a very special anniversary trying to make up for the honeymoon. Our 4 days in Vahine was true paradise and we had not one complaint...it was amazing.
I had tears in my eyes when we arrived by boat and Laure gave us our welcome drinks... this island just has such a special feeling about it. My husband had tears when we entered our beach suite #3...the views were stunning and again, just felt so special. The sliding doors were perfect as they allowed us to really experience the beautiful views of palm trees and crystal clear water with a nice breeze coming into our room. I did have a tiny geiko visit me in the shower one day!! and we enjoyed watching the mamma bird getting food for her baby in the nest built in the palm tree behind our room.
The staff is exceptional and Roy (beach boy!) was great. We did go on one snorkeling "tour" with him and experienced the coconut show, and the island tour which was really cool learning about all of the native home remedies. The coconut milk rum shot was delicious!!
The best part about this island is the serenity...quiet, peaceful and everywhere you looked was like a postcard. I had to laugh when one of the reviewers said this place was missing a bathtub stating that he needed a tub for romance. In my opinion every square foot of this island screams romance!! It was a unique, scenic, breathtaking place unlike no other we have ever been to.
The breakfast & dinners were exceptional and we looked forward to them daily. I loved knowing that there were no choices of restaurants, like on other islands, so I wasn't stressed about where to go to eat. My husband, who doesn't like yogurt, loved the homemade vanilla yogurt each morning..it was delicious ! The beautiful place setting & setup with flowers was just amazing. We didn't pay ahead of time for lunch, and shared a light lunch some days and had brought (from the previous island) cheese, crackers, wine which was an amazing lunch that we ate on our little beach at our room.
We loved having "nothing to do" except kayak with eagle rays, snorkel in crystal clear water, play a fun game of beach volleyball, explore the small island, stroll through the palm tree garden, eat gourmet food and go on cool excursions with Roy!
So on a side note we termed the saying "Vahine withdrawal" the day that we left this island and got to Bora Bora...on our very nice resort with lots of people, sub par food etc. We kept fantasizing about taking a helicopter back to Vahine!! We finally got over it the day after but it was honestly very had to go back to a "resort" after staying here for us! Based on this I would recommend planning to come here on the last stop of your vacation if possible.
Lastly, we want to thank the staff for making our romantic dinner so very special- they went above and beyond and it was without a doubt our favorite night of our 2 week vacation!
WE LOVE VAHINE!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I believe the beach suites are the best way to go on this island, especially if you are staying at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guests "Rossel1"
We want to thank you very much for such a detailed and nice comment on our page.
We have shared your it with our team and it give us a great pleasure to see how wonderful and special the experience was for you. We hope to stay in your memories and hearts and hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Maururu Terence, Laure and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our favorite place during our bucket list trip to French Polynesia. While we definitely enjoyed all the other island/places, this stood out to us because it meshed perfectly with our desires: small, quiet, luxurious, good food, beautiful views, and just the right amount of attentive staff. From our welcome by Laure to the amazing/AMAZING food from Terence, to views of Bora Bora we found ourselves in paradise.

We stayed for 3 nights one of the beach/oceanfront cottages and were thrilled! Plenty of room, gorgeous views of the lagoon and palm trees in the breeze. We sat on our spacious lanai and watched several glorious sunsets behind Bora Bora - I felt I was in a dream. The best part is that you have plenty of room and space and solitude when you want it. We walked around the island surveying the reefs and taking hundreds of photos. We took the stand-up paddles out several times and had a blast.

Became addicted to the homemade vanilla yogurt each morning - everything was so good...dare I say perfect?

If we ever make it back to this part of the globe, I'll insist that we stay here!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear "Charlie G"
YES you can move to Vahine Island! Just tell me which bungalow you want for your home:-)
Thank you very much for your comment and consideration to us. We are glad you had a great time with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We made our first trip to Vahine Island last year, and went back again last month. Once again, we stayed ten days, and were able to decompress and relax in a heavenly setting. We saw a lot of people come and go, since most stop for only 2 or 3 days, but I highly recommend a longer stay.

It was like going back to visit family. Everyone remembered us, and could not have made us feel more at home. It is a testament to the quality of the people that everyone from last year was still there, with one great addition -- a young man named Landry who is being trained for the front office and the dining room.

We once again opted for a Beach Suite, and were given number 3, mid-way on the shore of the motu. Well appointed and very comfortable, and very well taken care of by the housekeeping staff. I think it is our new favorite room! I will say it again: we had several resident geckos and/or lizards in and around the room -- they were there first, after all. This resort blends with the environment. It does not try to obliterate the environment, so expect birds on the deck, crabs everywhere and little geckos in the evening! We watched a heron's nest in the tree in front of our room all week, and the little one fledged while we were there. What a beautiful sight!

We were lucky enough to have whales playing and breaching just beyond the reef on two days while we were there, which added to the experience. Roe kept looking out for coconut tree hazards every time I sat on the beach (not just the fruit, but the fronds too!), and last year's strong wind was replaced by a perfect breeze. The snorkeling near the reef on the bungalow side of the island is excellent, and don't be afraid of the black-tipped sharks -- they're big but didn't bother us at all. Altogether a perfect environment.

Laure and Terence were kind enough to accommodate our request to have Michel and Marielle from Tahaa Dive to dinner, and ferried them to the dock and back for us on our last night.

Dinners were once again excellent and very creative. I plan on stealing a couple of ideas for dinner parties back home, although I cannot figure out how Terence manages the soft boiled egg with the crispy crust -- so yummy!

We had planned on going back every couple of years, but I think this is going to be an annual end of summer escape.

Room Tip: The Beach Suites are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Ia Orana dear friends,
It was a great pleasure to have you with us again and thank you for taking the time to write a comment on our page. We will share it with all the team and will try to have them all again when you come back next year :-)
We look forward to having you back with us. All the best to you. Laure & Terence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was the highlight of our four island silver wedding anniversary trip to French Polynesia.

We arrived in Raitea and took the 30 minute boat trip to the 23 acre island, located in Tahaa.

We were met by Laure who gave us a brief welcome to the island, and then taken to our water bungalow, only 3 on the island along with a small number of beach suites and garden bungalows.

Beautifully decorated in authentic Polynesian style, clean and equipped with the usual facilities.
What stands out here are the 'team'.

Laure and her partner, Terence, who manage the resort, are so helpful and accommodating to any request, they really do want your stay with them to be special, and that it was.

The French chef Terence was trained by and worked with michelin star chefs and he prepares a daily dinner menu. The food is amazing and cleverly presented to excite your tastebuds at first sight. You are given the dinner menu in the morning and if something isn't to your liking he will adapt it for you.

We enjoyed five glorious nights here, taking a leisurely cocktail and coconut crisps pre dinner and watching the reef sharks swim past, enjoying a beautifully prepared and presented meal and totally relaxing.

We made some good friends at Vahine in the staff there and thank them immensely for allowing us to celebrate our special occasion with them.

One evening we watched an authentic Polynesian show with fire eater and dancers - just brilliant
We have such fond memories and thank you Laure and Terence for making our special wedding anniversary so memorable

As they say in France, merci bien and in Polynesia, mauruuru.
A must for your 'bucket' list

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear friends "skater-babe12"
Thank you very much for this nice comment, We really appreciate and the entire team hope to see you back soon to our little paradize. Maururu roa. Terence & Laure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was the last stop of our honeymoon and highly recommended by one of my bestfriend's. It's all about privacy, you feel like Robinson Crusoe, the hotel staff extremely accomodatind and nice.
We have a diving trip early in the morning and they have arranged for our breakfast so that we can go with a full stomach. Loved the homemade vanilla yogurt in the morning, the dinner menu every night was superb.
I dream to go back for our 10 years wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Genynch,
We appreciate you take the time to write us a comment and would like to thank you.
Maururu for your visit and we really hope to see you back for your 10th anniversary!
Terence & Laure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vahine Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vahine Island Resort

Address: Private Island | Tahaa Lagoon, 98733, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vahine Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private island of 23 acres on the North of Tahaa,Vahine Island offers a unique experience in an idyllic place:Luxurious accommodation, delicious cuisine, large coconut grove on an impeccable lawn and white sandy beach… Guests find total peace and privacy in the middle of one of the most beautiful lagoon of French Polynesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Vahine Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vahine Island - Private Island Hotel Tahaa
Vahine Island Hotel Tahaa
Vahine Island Resort Tahaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vahine Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.